Free zone company setup Dubai: formation and costs (2026)

Free zone company setup Dubai: formation and costs (2026)

Posted on byLida MoghaddamLida Moghaddam

Disclaimer: This article is for general informational purposes only. It is based on cited public data and published under Lida Moghaddam's RERA-licensed masthead. It is not financial, legal, or investment advice. Dubai's property market moves quickly, so figures, yields, and rules may change or become outdated by the time you read this. Verify current information with the relevant authority or a qualified professional before acting. Read the full disclaimer.

Table of contents

Free zone company setup in Dubai is priced by the entity route, licensed activities, workspace and residence services included. Meydan Free Zone publishes a licence starting at AED 12,500 without visas, with flexi-desk provision included, as of 16 October 2026. That starting price covers a different scope from a complete formation package. Source: Meydan Free Zone.

Last verified: 16 October 2026. Checked by the publication's independent check, 16 October 2026. Official sources for the summary and comparison are linked below.

The table records different purchasing scopes. It does not establish an all-in price comparison between the zones.

Quotation fieldDMCC: itemised routeDMCC: named packageMeydan Free Zone: licence starting price
Zone and scopeDubai Multi Commodities Centre, or DMCC; individual-owned company, subsidiary and branch routesDMCC Jump Start, Standard Flexi Desk; subject to package eligibilityMeydan Free Zone; its page describes an LLC licence, a limited liability company licence
Legal and activity basisApproved activity and ownership route determine documents and chargesLinked terms exclude branches and subsidiaries; activity eligibility appliesPage lists consulting, e-commerce, technology, media and trading; exact activity and legal form belong in the quote
Price basisFive displayed standard setup components sum to AED 34,185; incomplete cost ledgerAED 43,780 for the one-year Standard Flexi Desk packageLicence starts at AED 12,500 without visas
Licence periodLicence row is annualOne-year package shown hereNot specified beside the starting-price claim; confirm the quoted term
Workspace includedNo workspace price appears in the five-component ledgerStandard flexi-desk, shared workspace under the package's access termsFlexi-desk provision included with the licence
Visa allocation versus issuanceCapacity depends on office size and licence type; issuance is separateCapacity for three residence visas; one two-year residence visa service included, subject to approvalPage describes up to six allocations; the starting price excludes visas
Fees separately payableWorkspace, residence services and applicable extras; tax/levy reconciliation remains openTerms separately charge employee protection insurance, medical fitness typing and typing for Emirates ID, the UAE identity card; additional services require confirmationResidence services and any extras in the selected quote; tax/levy basis unresolved by the starting-price statement
VAT, value added tax, and knowledge/innovation wordingGeneral conditions state AED 20 Knowledge and Innovation Dirham fees; individual setup rows do not settle VAT treatmentSchedule says inclusive of VAT and Knowledge & Innovation Dirhams, non-refundableNot stated beside the cited starting price
Renewal basisSeparate licence and establishment-card renewal rows, plus workspace and applicable compliance; the establishment card is used for company visa applicationsSetup package is not an existing-company renewal package; renewal needs its own quoteObtain the renewal price and workspace terms; no renewal amount inferred here
Retrieved16 October 202616 October 202616 October 2026

Source: withlida.com, 16 October 2026, compiled from DMCC formation requirements, the DMCC charge schedule, DMCC's currently linked Jumpstart terms, dated 12 August 2024, DMCC's visa eligibility requirements, and Meydan's own setup description. Retrieval is the checking date, not a new effective date for the linked terms.

What does company formation include?

Formation establishes the business; the activity licence specifies the approved work, and the premises arrangement supplies its registered workspace. Residence and banking have their own applications. DMCC's current setup page distinguishes individual, subsidiary and branch routes, each with its own documents and approvals, as of October 2026. Source: DMCC.

An individual-owned company fits a founder applying in their own name as shareholder. A subsidiary fits an existing company establishing a separate legal entity. A branch fits an existing company's extension into Dubai: DMCC describes a branch as part of its parent, while a subsidiary is a separate entity. The parent structure therefore changes the application before workspace or visa services are priced. Source: DMCC branch explanation, retrieved 16 October 2026.

The licence must name the intended activity. A quotation for consulting does not establish the scope of another activity simply because both operate online. DMCC states that additional documents or external approvals may depend on the business activity and structure. Source: DMCC formation requirements, as of October 2026.

For a founder comparing a company with an individual professional route, the freelance permit and residence guide covers that separate application. A company incorporation, a freelance permit and a residence permit are different documents and outcomes.

Which documents and premises are required?

DMCC groups the evidence around identity, ownership, the business and its premises. The exact submission depends on who owns the applicant and what it will do, as of October 2026. Source: DMCC formation requirements.

Document groupWhat the DMCC record namesWhat changes with the route
IdentityPassports, residential-address evidence, UAE visa and Emirates ID where applicablePeople covered include shareholders, directors and authorised signatories
Ownership and authorityShareholding structure, constitutional documents and signing authoritySubsidiaries add parent-company records and a board resolution
BusinessProposed name, licensed activities and applicable bank-reference or capital-deposit evidenceActivity and structure can trigger additional approvals
PremisesOffice lease, serviced-office contract or ownership evidence, according to property typeWorkspace must fit the route and activity
Beneficial ownershipUltimate Beneficial Owner information, identifying the individuals who ultimately own or control the companySupporting records must be maintained and updated when ownership or control changes

Source: withlida.com, 16 October 2026, from DMCC's formation page and its linked individual application guideline and subsidiary application guideline, retrieved this date.

DMCC's individual guideline also lists specimen signatures, a shareholders' resolution and Articles of Association, the company's constitutional rules. The subsidiary guideline adds parent registration, incumbency and constitutional records, with document-specific translation and authentication requirements. These are application checklists, rather than a universal requirement to attest every document. [Sources: DMCC individual and subsidiary guidelines linked above, retrieved 16 October 2026].

A registered business address is separate from the founder's home. DMCC requires an office address within its zone and describes flexi-desk, serviced-office and dedicated-workspace solutions. Meydan's cited product includes flexi-desk provision. The workspace agreement establishes what access and facilities that provision supplies. [Sources: DMCC and Meydan formation pages, retrieved 16 October 2026, linked above].

For the housing decision, the actual workplace address and attendance pattern matter more than the licence's postal address alone. DMCC identifies Jumeirah Lakes Towers and Uptown Dubai as its districts; the Jumeirah Lakes Towers housing guide provides the residential context for a founder weighing home and office in that area. Company costs and home rent remain separate budgets.

What does a quoted package cover?

A named package covers its stated services and eligibility conditions. DMCC's one-year Jump Start Standard Flexi Desk package is listed at AED 43,780, inclusive of VAT and Knowledge & Innovation Dirhams, and non-refundable, as retrieved on 16 October 2026. Those included amounts are not added to the package again. Source: DMCC charge schedule.

The currently linked terms name registration, the business licence, establishment card, an Articles of Association template and the standard flexi-desk among its benefits. They include one two-year residence visa service, but separately charge employee protection insurance, medical fitness typing and Emirates ID typing. Immigration approval remains a separate decision. Source: DMCC Jumpstart terms, clauses 2.3 and 3.9, retrieved 16 October 2026.

For a solo founder, the useful package comparison is the full list of included services and separately payable items. For a corporate parent, legal-route eligibility comes first: those Jumpstart terms exclude subsidiary and branch applications. Meydan's AED 12,500 licence starting price serves a different comparison, because it excludes visas while including flexi-desk provision. [Sources: DMCC terms above and Meydan's setup page, retrieved 16 October 2026].

How do first-year and renewal costs differ?

First-year costs include formation items that the schedule labels once per application; recurring costs follow their own renewal rows and contracts. The following worked example uses only DMCC's Company Setup Standard Pricing section, retrieved on 16 October 2026. It illustrates a non-branch application with the listed licence and establishment card, before workspace and residence are priced.

Standard setup componentDisplayed amountSchedule frequency
ApplicationAED 1,035Once per application
RegistrationAED 9,020Once per application
Articles of AssociationAED 2,020Once per application; not applicable to branch setup
LicenceAED 20,285Annual; additional activities can change the fee
Establishment cardAED 1,825Annual
One-time component sumAED 12,0751,035 + 9,020 + 2,020
Annual components in the setup sectionAED 22,11020,285 + 1,825
Five displayed components combinedAED 34,18512,075 + 22,110; incomplete cost ledger
WorkspaceSeparately quotedInitial term and renewal follow the chosen workspace agreement
Residence and identity servicesSeparately quotedSelected issuance services and later renewals when due
All-in first-year costOpenRequires those quotes and reconciliation of taxes and per-service charges

Source: withlida.com, 16 October 2026, calculations from DMCC's Company Setup Standard Pricing. These are displayed-component sums, not a payable all-in quotation.

The final first-year total stays open. The schedule's general conditions state AED 20 Knowledge and Innovation Dirham fees, while the five setup rows do not individually settle VAT treatment. The portal quotation must reconcile the applicable tax and per-service charges. This ledger neither assumes every displayed amount excludes a levy nor adds a levy to an amount already marked inclusive.

The remaining cost lines are the chosen workspace, applicable residence and identity services, activity approvals, document services and any selected support. Share-capital evidence is also distinct from an authority service fee. Their amounts are not invented or treated as zero. The same schedule has other service headings with their own figures; those rows are not mixed into this named setup ledger. [Sources: DMCC charge schedule and formation requirements, as of October 2026, linked above].

Renewal needs a fresh ledger. The following two rows come from the schedule's renewal services, rather than repeating its new-company amounts.

Renewal componentDisplayed amountBasis
Standard trading/service licence renewalAED 20,265One year; listed special licence types are excluded and activities can alter the charge
Company establishment-card renewalAED 2,205Per renewal request
Two displayed renewal services combinedAED 22,47020,265 + 2,205; incomplete renewal budget

Source: withlida.com, 16 October 2026, from DMCC Licensing Services and Company Services. General knowledge/innovation conditions and applicable taxes still require reconciliation.

Workspace renewal, residence services when due, and applicable compliance work sit outside that sum. DMCC's renewal guidelines also identify premises evidence, relevant insurance, regulated-activity approvals, applicable operational-fitness documents and parent-company good-standing evidence for specified corporate routes. A renewal is therefore an administrative and compliance process as well as a payment. Source: DMCC renewal guidelines, as of October 2026.

How do you start a free zone company in Dubai?

The DMCC sequence is pre-approval, registration and signing, the appropriate premises evidence, then electronic licence issuance. The activity and ownership route determine the documents within that sequence, as of October 2026. Source: DMCC formation requirements.

  1. Define the applicant and activity

    The application identifies the proposed name, shareholder structure, officers and business activities. The individual or corporate route determines which ownership documents support it.

  2. Submit for pre-approval

    Identity and supporting records go through DMCC's online process. Additional approvals depend on the activity and structure.

  3. Confirm services, documents and premises

    The portal sets the selected charges, documents are signed, and the workspace arrangement supplies the required premises evidence. A package's inclusion list belongs beside the payment request.

  4. Receive the company records

    Licence issuance completes the licensing stage. The individual guideline lists electronic registration and share certificates among the outputs. Residence and bank applications proceed under their separate requirements.

Sequence source: DMCC formation page and individual application guideline linked above, retrieved 16 October 2026. Processing depends on complete documents and approvals; no fixed completion time is assumed here.

Is residence or a bank account included?

An included residence service or banking introduction is distinct from approval. DMCC's package terms make the visa subject to federal checks, while a bank runs its own verification and assessment. Sources: DMCC Jumpstart terms above and Emirates NBD's onboarding process, retrieved 16 October 2026.

Visa allocation describes capacity to apply. The quoted package determines whether any issuance service is included. Meydan's cited page describes up to six allocations, but its starting licence price is without visas. DMCC also states that a residence applicant must visit the UAE for medical fitness and Emirates ID biometrics even where company formation is handled remotely. [Sources: Meydan and DMCC formation pages, as of October 2026, linked above].

Business banking has a separate document review. As one bank-specific example, Emirates NBD's digital route requests a valid licence or incorporation certificate, partners' and authorised signatories' passports and Emirates IDs, constitutional or resolution documents, and six months' company or partner bank statements according to whether the company is existing or new. Its digital eligibility FAQ requires a resident signatory and routes multilayer ownership separately. Those conditions belong to that bank's route, rather than a universal free-zone checklist. Source: Emirates NBD, as of October 2026.

The founder's household account is another task. The Dubai personal bank-account guide covers that side of the move. A setup quote's bank-assistance line does not establish account activation, account fees or balance requirements.

How does corporate-tax qualification work?

Special corporate-tax treatment depends on both the company's qualifying status and the income it earns. A free-zone licence alone does not determine either. The Federal Tax Authority's Free Zone Persons bulletin separates a Free Zone Person from a Qualifying Free Zone Person and separately defines Qualifying Income. Source: FTA's 2024 bulletin, retrieved 16 October 2026.

The bulletin's conditions include adequate substance, qualifying income, not electing standard corporate-tax treatment, market terms for related-party transactions, documentation for those dealings, audited financial statements and a non-qualifying revenue condition. A workspace product's name does not, by itself, establish that those conditions are met.

The FTA also describes registration, returns and record-keeping obligations. Licence renewal and tax compliance therefore remain separate recurring tasks. This is a description of the bulletin's framework, not a conclusion about a founder's company, customers or income. [Source: FTA bulletin above, retrieved 16 October 2026].

Frequently asked questions, checked 16 October 2026

What does free zone company mean in Dubai?

It means a company registered through the relevant free-zone authority, with a licence for its approved activities. DMCC's formation record distinguishes individual, subsidiary and branch applications. Residence and banking follow separate processes. Source: DMCC formation requirements above, as of October 2026.

How much does it cost to set up a company in a UAE free zone?

The amount depends on the zone, legal route, activities and included services. Meydan publishes AED 12,500 as a licence starting price without visas; DMCC's five displayed standard setup components add to AED 34,185 before unresolved and separately quoted items. These represent different scopes, not a UAE-wide cost range. Sources: official Meydan and DMCC pages linked above, retrieved 16 October 2026.

Can I set up a DMCC company from overseas?

DMCC describes an online formation process. Its company-sponsored residence route still requires a UAE visit for medical fitness and Emirates ID biometrics. Source: DMCC formation page above, as of October 2026.

Does visa allocation mean a residence visa has been issued?

No. Allocation describes application capacity; the package specifies any included service, and immigration approval is separate. DMCC's linked Jumpstart terms expressly make residence issuance subject to federal checks and approvals. Source: DMCC terms above, retrieved 16 October 2026.

Is the lowest advertised licence price the complete setup cost?

A starting licence figure covers its stated scope. A complete comparison records the entity route, activity, licence term, workspace, residence services, separately payable charges and renewal basis. The official examples in the opening table have different inclusions, as retrieved on 16 October 2026.

Change log: 2026-10-16, first published. Formation requirements, named fee rows and package terms checked against DMCC and Meydan; tax framework checked against the FTA bulletin.

Subscribe to the withlida newsletter for dated Dubai relocation and housing guides.

Last updated
Written byLida MoghaddamLida Moghaddam

Architect-turned-real-estate-specialist based in Dubai. She helps buyers, sellers, and investors read property with a designer's eye — structure, location, and long-term value.

View all The Dubai Edit
Newsletter

Sourced guides, original data, and plain-language process reporting — in your inbox every week. No listings, no sales pressure.

Free. Unsubscribe anytime.