Freelance visa Dubai: permits, documents and costs (2026)

Freelance visa Dubai: permits, documents and costs (2026)

Posted on byLida MoghaddamLida Moghaddam

Disclaimer: This article is for general informational purposes only. It is based on cited public data and published under Lida Moghaddam's RERA-licensed masthead. It is not financial, legal, or investment advice. Dubai's property market moves quickly, so figures, yields, and rules may change or become outdated by the time you read this. Verify current information with the relevant authority or a qualified professional before acting. Read the full disclaimer.

Table of contents

Dubai's freelance permit and residence visa are separate applications. As of 14 October 2026, the own-name permit costs AED 7,500 plus separate AED 10 Knowledge and AED 10 Innovation fees (DDA); GoFreelance lists establishment-card and visa charges separately.

Record or chargePublished amountTerm or scopeOfficial record
Sole Professional License permitAED 7,500GoFreelance licence renews annuallyDDA fee; GoFreelance validity
Knowledge DirhamAED 10Additional fee per transactionDDA
Innovation DirhamAED 10Additional fee per transactionDDA
Establishment cardAED 2,000Card term not stated on public pageGoFreelance
One-year visa optionAED 4,600One year, linked to licence and card validityGoFreelance
Two-year visa optionAED 5,042Two years, linked to licence and card validityGoFreelance

Source: withlida.com, 14 October 2026, from the Dubai Development Authority (DDA) licence service and GoFreelance's visa section and FAQs, accessed that date. These are separate components, not a complete application invoice. GoFreelance states that visa and establishment-card fees are subject to change.

Last verified: 14 October 2026.

The moving-to-Dubai guide connects residence paperwork with identity, schools and home setup. The records below provide the freelance eligibility, document and cost detail for that sequence.

What is a freelance permit versus a visa?

The freelance permit licenses professional activity; residence is a separate immigration permission. GoFreelance's own fee and application records separate the licence from the visa and the establishment card required before that visa application, as of October 2026.

DDA's Sole Professional License service describes a sole practitioner operating in their birth name, rather than a brand name. GoFreelance's FAQ specifies the name appearing on the passport, as of October 2026. This is an individual freelance licence; a free-zone company's business licence is a different record.

The establishment card, the separate record GoFreelance requires for its visa application, sits between licensing and residence. The FAQ says the visa remains linked to the validity of the licence and card. A longer visa term therefore does not turn an annually renewed licence into a multi-year licence payment.

The same GoFreelance FAQ states that the freelance licence does not permit hiring or sponsoring staff, as of October 2026. Sponsoring a family member belongs to a different residence question, addressed below.

Can an existing resident apply?

Yes. GoFreelance expressly allows someone with a full-time job to apply for the licence alone by submitting a declaration form, as of October 2026. DDA's document list also accommodates an applicant who already holds a residence visa. These are application provisions; the conditions affecting the person's existing employment, sponsorship and proposed work remain separate.

DDA documentWhen the service requires itWhat it establishes
Valid passport copy, with residence-visa page if anyAll applicants; include visa page where heldIdentity and existing residence record
External-authority NOCIf applicable under Licensing Categories Decision, Article 08Relevant external-authority clearance
Self-Declaration FormApplicant holds a valid visaDeclaration required by this service

Source: withlida.com, 14 October 2026, from DDA's required-document list, as of October 2026. An NOC is a no-objection certificate. DDA ties this external-authority requirement to the Licensing Categories Decision where applicable; the service does not label it a universal employer NOC.

For an employed resident, the useful application file pairs these records with confirmation of the applicable employment or sponsor conditions. The selected community can identify any activity-specific supporting evidence through its application checklist.

For a resident seeking a different residence route, GoFreelance's FAQ says transfer from the current visa is generally possible depending on where it was issued, as of October 2026. That conditional answer does not settle a particular cancellation or status-change procedure.

Which activities qualify?

GoFreelance publishes specific activities across technology, media, education and design. The match is the actual service to be licensed, rather than the general description “remote worker” or “freelancer”.

Published activity groupExamples from the listAssociated community
TechnologyWeb Development, Software Development, Machine Learning, Information SecurityDubai Internet City
MediaCopywriter, Graphic Designer, Photographer, Social Media SpecialistDubai Media City
EducationEducation Advisor, eLearning Advisor, Executive Coaching, Researcher, TrainerDubai Knowledge Park
DesignInterior Designer, Fashion Designer, Jewellery Designer, Textile DesignerDubai Design District

Source: withlida.com, 14 October 2026, from GoFreelance's published activity lists, as of October 2026. These are examples, not the complete list or an individual eligibility decision.

For example, Web Development provides a named starting point for a software freelancer; Trainer provides one for a professional trainer. The community's application assessment determines the activity and supporting records for the proposed service.

GoFreelance's FAQ describes independent-contractor work from a company's free-zone premises, as of October 2026. Work for an outside employer, other premises or a separately regulated activity remains subject to the permissions and rules applicable to that arrangement. The activity list does not establish unrestricted permission for every type of work.

What does each stage cost?

The chosen one-year GoFreelance route has a calculated published-components subtotal of AED 14,120. This example assumes a new applicant paying for a new licence, a new establishment card and the stated one-year visa option, using the records accessed on 14 October 2026.

Component in this exampleAmount includedValidity or boundary
Permit plus Knowledge and Innovation feesAED 7,520Licence renews annually
Establishment cardAED 2,000Public page does not state its term
One-year visa optionAED 4,600One year, linked to licence and card validity
Calculated published-components subtotalAED 14,120Initial components only; invoice inclusions require confirmation

Source: withlida.com, 14 October 2026, calculated from the DDA fee schedule and GoFreelance's published card, visa and licence records, accessed that date.

AED 7,500 + AED 10 + AED 10 + AED 2,000 + AED 4,600 = AED 14,120.

The permit-and-levies line is AED 7,500 + AED 10 + AED 10 = AED 7,520. GoFreelance's FAQ separately describes the AED 7,520 freelance package and says it excludes a visa. The calculation counts the Knowledge and Innovation charges once within that licence amount.

The public visa section does not itemise every inclusion in its displayed price. The following items therefore sit outside this calculated subtotal as unpriced requirements to reconcile, rather than amounts automatically added on top:

Requirement or possible case-specific itemPricing status hereInvoice question
Medical fitness processingNo separate amount usedIs the applicable examination included in the visa quote or separately payable?
Emirates ID and any biometric appointmentNo separate amount usedDoes the quote include the identity application and applicable processing?
Valid medical insuranceRequired by GoFreelance; premium not published in the visa sectionWhich policy applies, what is its price and when does cover begin?
Transfer, cancellation or status change, if applicableCase-specific; no separate amount usedWhich procedure applies to the current status, and which charges are already included?

Source: withlida.com, 14 October 2026, using GoFreelance's requirements and transfer FAQ, the UAE Government's residence-health record and Emirates ID record, as of October 2026. This is an unpriced reconciliation worksheet.

An item already included in the visa invoice contributes no second additional payment to the budget. A separately quoted item is added at its confirmed amount. Licence renewal, any card renewal, later residence renewal and dependant applications are outside this initial example.

Housing is also separate. Rent, tenancy registration, deposits, utilities and the journey between home and the actual work location have their own records and payment dates. None is priced by this visa subtotal.

How does the GoFreelance application proceed?

GoFreelance's published sequence starts with registration and an application through axs, its online service portal. The licence comes before the establishment-card and visa applications, where that residence route is needed, as of October 2026.

  1. Match the activity and residence situation

    The applicant identifies the listed activity and associated community, then separates the licence application from any required residence application. The existing visa, if held, determines which declaration and status questions belong in the file.

  2. Register and submit the licence file

    Registration on the official GoFreelance website leads to email verification and axs access. The applicant submits the application and required records through the portal, then pays through the stated process. DDA's service also identifies the activity-community Partner Relationship Manager as its customer-service channel.

  3. Apply for the card and visa where needed

    GoFreelance lists the freelance licence, establishment card, UAE phone number, valid medical insurance, original passport and passport photo for the visa stage. Its FAQ says the card is obtained before applying for the visa through the same portal.

  4. Complete the residence and identity requirements

    For a licence-holder applying from abroad, GoFreelance says the visa application can begin through axs and completion takes place in-country after the entry permit. The case's instructions identify the applicable medical and identity steps. The Emirates ID record describes possible attendance for biometric details.

Source for these application provisions: GoFreelance, DDA and the UAE Government, as of October 2026. An application receipt records progress; it does not replace an issued licence, residence permission or identity card.

Bank acceptance remains subject to the chosen bank's account and compliance rules. Tax obligations have a separate official framework: the Federal Tax Authority's corporate-tax registration service sets its own applicable criteria, as of October 2026. A licence or visa does not by itself settle either question.

For the home file, the Ejari registration guide explains Ejari, Dubai's tenancy-registration record, and its separate document process.

How does Green residency differ?

Green residency is a separate renewable five-year residence route without a sponsor, according to the UAE Government's Green visa overview, as of October 2026. It is distinct from GoFreelance's stated one- and two-year visa options.

The government overview names these eligible categories:

  • Skilled workers.
  • Freelancers and self-employed people.
  • Investors and business partners.

Being within a named category is a starting point for assessment, rather than proof that a particular applicant meets the route's requirements. The GDRFA Green visa service directory, operated by Dubai's residence authority, separates self-employment, skilled-worker and investor/partner applications, as of October 2026.

For a freelancer considering this route, the self-employment service's current checklist is the relevant verification point for qualifications, income evidence, documents and charges. The GoFreelance fee table above prices its stated components; it does not price a Green application or establish Green eligibility.

A five-year residence record and a professional licence still answer different questions. The applicable professional permission, scope and renewal conditions need their own confirmation alongside the residence assessment.

Can dependants be sponsored?

Family sponsorship may be available to an eligible resident, but holding a freelance licence alone does not establish that eligibility. The family application depends on the residence sponsor and the applicable family-sponsorship conditions.

The UAE Government's family-residence page, as of October 2026, states:

  • A minimum salary of AED 4,000, or AED 3,000 plus accommodation.
  • Listed family categories including a spouse, unmarried daughters, sons under 25 and children with special needs.
  • Male and female family members who have completed age 18 must undergo and pass medical fitness testing at approved UAE centres.

The page expresses its financial criterion as salary. Freelance invoices or turnover are not automatically a salary certificate or an accepted sponsorship-income record. For a self-employed applicant, GDRFA or ICP, the federal identity and residence authority, can confirm the evidence accepted for the actual residence category, together with relationship and accommodation documentation.

The same government page identifies first-degree relatives for Green holders; the Green overview also describes sponsorship of spouses and children, as of October 2026. Each relationship still needs its applicable application conditions checked.

Family residence is linked to the sponsor's residence: the family page states that cancellation of the sponsor's visa requires cancellation of dependants' visas, as of October 2026. A planned residence transfer therefore also has a family-document question.

For a household, a practical record lists each dependant's proposed route, identity and relationship evidence, applicable medical or insurance requirement and separately confirmed cost. Those amounts are outside the individual GoFreelance example above and belong beside the housing budget.

Frequently asked questions, checked 14 October 2026

What is a two-year freelance visa?

It is GoFreelance's stated two-year visa option. Its FAQ links visa validity to the licence and establishment card and says the licence renews annually, as of October 2026. The two-year visa term does not include a stated two-year licence payment.

How much is a two-year freelance visa in Dubai?

GoFreelance displays AED 5,042 for its two-year visa option, accessed 14 October 2026. That is the visa component, with the permit and establishment card recorded separately. The invoice determines included services and any separately payable items.

Can I get an Emirates ID on a freelance visa?

UAE residents must apply for Emirates ID under the UAE Government's identity record, as of October 2026. It is a separate identity process tied to resident status; the freelance licence alone is not Emirates ID.

How many days does a freelance visa take?

DDA lists an estimated two working days for its licence service, as of October 2026. That estimate does not cover the entire card, residence, medical and identity sequence. The case's current application status and outstanding steps determine its progress.

Change log: 2026-10-14 · first published · DDA permit and document conditions, GoFreelance component fees, Green structure and family-residence requirements verified; the published-components subtotal recomputed. Checked by the publication's independent check, 14 October 2026.

Last updated
Written byLida MoghaddamLida Moghaddam

Architect-turned-real-estate-specialist based in Dubai. She helps buyers, sellers, and investors read property with a designer's eye — structure, location, and long-term value.

View all The Dubai Edit
Newsletter

Sourced guides, original data, and plain-language process reporting — in your inbox every week. No listings, no sales pressure.

Free. Unsubscribe anytime.