
Family visa Dubai: employee sponsorship and fees (2026)
Disclaimer: This article is for general informational purposes only. It is based on cited public data and published under Lida Moghaddam's RERA-licensed masthead. It is not financial, legal, or investment advice. Dubai's property market moves quickly, so figures, yields, and rules may change or become outdated by the time you read this. Verify current information with the relevant authority or a qualified professional before acting. Read the full disclaimer.
Table of contents
An employed Dubai resident can apply to sponsor a spouse or eligible child when the family-sponsorship conditions are met. The UAE Government portal states a minimum monthly salary of AED 4,000, or AED 3,000 plus accommodation, as of 15 October 2026. Entry permission and residence issuance have separate documents and charges.
Source: withlida.com, 15 October 2026, from the UAE Government employee-family overview and GDRFA's Arabic family-residence record, accessed on that date.
Last verified: 15 October 2026. Checked by the publication's independent check, 15 October 2026.
The Golden Visa guide covers that separate sponsor category. The moving-to-Dubai overview connects residence preparation with schools, housing and household setup.
Who can sponsor family?
A male or female expatriate resident may sponsor an eligible spouse or child under the published family-residence conditions. The UAE Government overview lists a spouse, unmarried daughters, sons under 25 and children with special needs. GDRFA's Arabic record states that children with special needs may be sponsored regardless of age, subject to the applicable controls. These descriptions were verified on 15 October 2026. (UAE Government, GDRFA Arabic family-residence service.)
The Dubai record requires the sponsor to hold UAE residence, have financial capacity, provide suitable housing and prove kinship. It also links the family member's residence period to the sponsor's residence period, as of October 2026. A child's age, relationship and the sponsor's remaining permit therefore belong in the same application review. (GDRFA.)
This spouse-and-child checklist does not establish the conditions for sponsoring parents, a domestic worker or a relative visiting temporarily. Those files need their own named service and requirements.
What salary and housing evidence is required?
The published income condition is AED 4,000 monthly, or AED 3,000 plus accommodation. The federal overview gives that wording; ICP's foreign-resident-family section specifies employer-provided housing for the lower income amount, as of 15 October 2026. (UAE Government, ICP residence service.)
For the employed sponsor, the Dubai entry page lists an employment contract and a salary certificate for government, semi-government and free-zone employees. The employment category matters when establishing which income record the application requires. (GDRFA entry service, as of October 2026.)
Suitable housing remains a separate condition in the Arabic Dubai residence record. That record does not specify one housing document for every family file. ICP's family section describes adequate owned or rented housing in proportion to its capacity, but it does not replace Dubai's application-specific evidence check. (GDRFA, ICP, as of October 2026.)
For a household preparing its housing file, the useful question for GDRFA or Amer is: which record will this application accept for this accommodation arrangement? A rented home, an owned home and employer-provided accommodation present different evidence questions. Any request for a registered lease, ownership record or employer accommodation confirmation needs to be tied to the actual file.
Ejari is Dubai's tenancy-contract registration system. Its existence does not make it a blanket residence-document requirement for every sponsor category. Housing suitability and the record accepted to prove it need confirmation before the household treats its file as complete. (DLD tenancy-registration service and GDRFA family-residence conditions, as of October 2026.)
Which relationship documents need attestation?
The Dubai entry service names a certified marriage contract and an attested birth certificate. A spouse application uses marriage evidence; a child application uses the relevant birth and family records. The same page lists a father's no-objection where the sponsor is the wife. Amer can confirm how that conditional item applies to a mother-sponsored child file. (GDRFA entry requirements, as of October 2026.)
Attestation authenticates a document's signatures and seals, as described by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs attestation service, accessed 15 October 2026. Translation makes its content available in another language; it does not replace certification. The ministry, or MoFA, lists an original in English or Arabic, or an official translation, prior attestation by the appropriate authorities and an unlaminated document among its prerequisites, as of October 2026. (MoFA attestation FAQ.)
For foreign-issued records, MoFA's FAQ describes attestation by the issuing country's foreign ministry, the UAE embassy or consulate route and attestation through MoFA in the UAE. Mission procedures vary. The issuing country, document format and receiving authority's language requirements determine the preparation needed for that record. (MoFA, accessed 15 October 2026.)
For example, a spouse abroad may already hold the marriage certificate but still have certification or an accepted translation outstanding. Those are separate tasks, with separate quotes. A completed document file records both the accepted certificate and any translation requested by the receiving authority.
What is an entry permit versus residence?
An entry permit covers the entry stage; the residence permit is the later permission to reside. GDRFA's family-entry service describes a stay of 60 days from the date of entry while residence requirements are completed, as of October 2026. That period is not a residence duration or a universal deadline to enter after a permit is issued. The issued permit's own entry-validity terms remain relevant. (GDRFA entry service.)
Entry-stage document table
Scope: Dubai employee-family entry application, for a sponsored spouse or child, verified 15 October 2026. These are document requirements, so currency is not applicable; the fee table follows separately.
Source: withlida.com, 15 October 2026, from GDRFA's entry-service document list. Partner-route documents on that multi-route page are outside this employee checklist.
Residence-stage document and evidence table
Scope: Dubai family-residence issuance for the sponsored spouse or child, verified 15 October 2026. Currency is not applicable to the records. The table follows the Arabic family-residence service's upload list and conditions.
Source: withlida.com, 15 October 2026, from GDRFA's Arabic family-residence record and the medical-age requirement in the UAE Government overview. The published upload list and eligibility conditions must be read together.
Emirates ID, the UAE identity card, has its own application. ICP describes residence issuance as linked to an Emirates ID application. Identity appointments or biometrics follow the instructions applicable to that person; the entry-permit receipt does not price those steps. (ICP, as of October 2026.)
What does each application stage cost?
GDRFA lists AED 200 for the family-entry visa plus 5% VAT, and separately lists AED 200 for the family-residence permit. Each page has additional lines. These base amounts are authority charges for named stages, not a completed family-visa package. (Entry schedule, Arabic residence schedule, as of 15 October 2026.)
Entry-stage authority fees
Source: withlida.com, 15 October 2026, from GDRFA's family-entry fee schedule. GDRFA notes that the amount may vary with the sponsored person's circumstances.
Residence-stage authority fees
Source: withlida.com, 15 October 2026, from GDRFA's Arabic family-residence fee schedule. Its fee section does not specify VAT treatment; this table neither adds a VAT assumption nor labels the service tax-free.
The two AED 500 entries are not automatically additive. Both records publish an inside-country line, without explaining whether both would be collected in the same person's application. The transaction breakdown from GDRFA or Amer is needed to establish what applies and whether an amount has already been charged.
Medical fitness, Emirates ID, attestation, translation and insurance remain separately priced stages. ICP's family-document section includes valid health insurance, but the Dubai fee records above do not quote a premium or price all those services. (ICP, accessed 15 October 2026.)
An Amer centre is an application-service channel. A provider's quote may combine authority charges with typing, service or other components. A comparable quote identifies the applicant, inside/outside-country route, permit duration, taxes, inclusions and exclusions. No Amer/provider package price is treated here as a government tariff.
How does an employee sponsor a spouse applying from abroad?
For a hypothetical employee who already holds Dubai residence and whose adult spouse remains abroad, the sequence starts with the sponsor's eligibility and ends with separate residence and identity records. GDRFA lists digital submission through UAE Pass, the UAE's digital identity, or a username, as well as Amer service-centre channels, as of October 2026. (Entry service, residence service.)
Establish the sponsor and housing file
The employee's residence, employment and income records establish the sponsor side. GDRFA or Amer confirms the housing evidence accepted for the actual accommodation arrangement. The spouse's relationship and identity records establish the sponsored-person side.
Complete the relationship documents
The marriage record follows the required attestation route. Any translation requested for the file is recorded separately, together with its charge and the original or certified record it accompanies.
Submit the family-entry application
The sponsor uses the applicable GDRFA digital or Amer channel, supplies the entry documents and receives an application reference and payment record. The spouse is abroad in this example, so the entry page's inside-country additions are not included in the entry calculation below.
Use the issued entry permission
The issued permit sets the entry terms. After entry, the family completes the applicable residence requirements within the permitted period. The entry receipt remains distinct from the later residence decision.
Complete medical, identity and residence requirements
For the adult spouse, the file includes the required medical-fitness result. The Emirates ID application and insurance arrangements have their own records and charges. Residence issuance follows the family-residence service and the conditions assessed for this file.
Source for the sequence: GDRFA entry, GDRFA Arabic residence, UAE Government, MoFA and ICP, as of 15 October 2026. This is an explanatory sequence, not a fixed appointment timetable.
The abroad-spouse entry calculation
AED 200 × 5% = AED 10 VAT. AED 200 + AED 10 = AED 210.
That is the published entry fee plus its stated VAT only, calculated from GDRFA's entry schedule, as of 15 October 2026. It excludes residence issuance and its applicable additions, medical fitness, Emirates ID, insurance, attestation, translation and any separately charged file, typing or provider service. It is not an all-in cost.
What changes if the spouse is already inside the UAE?
The entry record's AED 500 inside-country fee becomes relevant, alongside its conditional AED 10 knowledge and AED 10 innovation charges. Those three published additions sum to AED 520. This is a scoped sum of the entry page's conditional lines, not a second visa-package total. (GDRFA, as of 15 October 2026; withlida calculation.)
The existing permission and the proposed residence route determine which in-country procedure applies. GDRFA or Amer can identify that procedure and reconcile the same-named residence-stage fee before payment. The tables do not establish that an applicant pays the inside-country amount twice.
What happens when the sponsor's or family member's residence expires?
Family residence is linked to the sponsor's permit, but the official pages publish different grace-period descriptions. The UAE Government overview says cancellation of the sponsor's residence requires cancellation of dependants' permits. The relevant deadlines need verification against the actual residence or cancellation record. (UAE Government, as of October 2026.)
Source: withlida.com, 15 October 2026, from the UAE Government overview and GDRFA Arabic residence record.
These descriptions do not establish one universal family-visa deadline. They are also separate from the entry service's period for completing residence requirements after arrival. The actual permit and cancellation terms, together with an official enquiry using the file details, are the basis for confirming the applicable date.
GDRFA's official enquiry contacts list Amer on 8005111 within the UAE and +971 4 313 9999 internationally, as verified on 15 October 2026. An enquiry can identify the permit category, expiry or cancellation date, applicant location and any pending application.
Frequently asked questions, checked 15 October 2026
What are the requirements for a spouse visa in Dubai?
For this employed-resident route, the records cover the sponsor's residence and financial capacity, suitable housing, the spouse's identity and certified marriage evidence. Entry and residence have separate lists, with medical fitness required for adults under the federal overview. GDRFA entry and Arabic residence, as of October 2026, remain the Dubai service references.
How many days does family visa approval take?
The entry and Arabic residence pages each display a 48.0-hour service estimate, as accessed on 15 October 2026. Neither estimate prices or times the whole journey, including foreign-document preparation, medical appointments, Emirates ID and any further evidence requested. Sources: entry service and residence service.
How can I check a Dubai family visa application status?
GDRFA's application and file enquiry provides lookup options with different required fields. Follow the selected option using the reference and transaction details on the application receipt. This Dubai enquiry page was verified on 15 October 2026; an Emirates ID enquiry is a separate application check.
Does this employee-family checklist cover Golden Visa dependants?
The employee-family checklist does not establish Golden Visa dependant conditions or charges. That is a separate sponsor-category enquiry; the Golden Visa guide linked above covers the publication's property-related route.
Change log: 2026-10-15 · first published · employee-family eligibility, Dubai entry and Arabic residence records, document requirements and fee arithmetic verified.
Subscribe to the withlida newsletter for future Dubai household guides and official-rule updates.
Architect-turned-real-estate-specialist based in Dubai. She helps buyers, sellers, and investors read property with a designer's eye — structure, location, and long-term value.












