Off-plan reservation form: payment, cancellation and the next record (2026)

Off-plan reservation form: payment, cancellation and the next record (2026)

Posted on byLida MoghaddamLida Moghaddam

Disclaimer: This article is for general informational purposes only. It is based on cited public data and published under Lida Moghaddam's RERA-licensed masthead. It is not financial, legal, or investment advice. Dubai's property market moves quickly, so figures, yields, and rules may change or become outdated by the time you read this. Verify current information with the relevant authority or a qualified professional before acting. Read the full disclaimer.

Table of contents+

A reservation payment's treatment and any cancellation or refund consequence come from the exact reservation form and transaction facts, not from a universal Dubai outcome. The next official buyer record follows the signed sale and purchase agreement through Oqood: DLD's current initial-sale service says the signed SPA must reach the provisional register within 90 days, so keep the form, payment receipt, SPA and eventual Oqood certificate as four separate pieces of evidence (Dubai Land Department, as of 25 September 2026).

The reservation form is not the next registered record

The reservation form may record a unit, a proposed price and a payment, but DLD's next registered buyer record follows a signed SPA. Calling both documents “the contract” hides the evidence gap between them.

StageRecord in the buyer's fileWho creates itWhat it establishesWhat should come next
Proposed reservationThe exact form supplied for the transactionDeveloper or seller named on the formOnly the terms written in that versionSigned copy and payment evidence, if the parties proceed
Money sentBank confirmation and formal receiptBank, payment provider and named recipientAmount, date, sender, beneficiary and payment referenceReconciliation against the form and official project details
Sale contractedSPA signed by developer and purchaserBuyer and developerThe sale terms accepted by both partiesDeveloper's initial-sale registration through Oqood
Sale provisionally registeredProvisional registration e-certificateDLD through the Oqood processThe off-plan sale has entered DLD's provisional registerRetained registered record and later completion documents

DLD lists a copy of the SPA as a required document, requires the developer and purchaser to sign it, and says the purchaser receives the registration output by email (DLD, as of 25 September 2026). A reservation form or receipt may matter to the parties, but neither is identified by that official page as the issued provisional-registration record.

Evidence route from reservation form and receipt to signed SPA and Oqood provisional registration
The evidence changes at each stage: commercial form, payment proof, signed contract, then the DLD provisional record.

This workflow sits beneath the wider off-plan versus ready cash-stage comparison. The pillar compares when money moves across both purchase routes; this companion stays on the off-plan records created before provisional registration.

Before payment, match the project and escrow fields

The useful pre-payment check is an identity match: project, developer, bank, account and payment reference should describe the same transaction. A project's presence in the official system does not supply missing reservation terms.

DLD's Project Status Enquiry accepts a project name or number and exposes fields for the project's status, developer, bank name and escrow account (DLD, as of 25 September 2026). Escrow means the project bank account used for off-plan buyer and project-financier money. DLD's current FAQ says all amounts received from buyers of off-plan units are deposited in the relevant project escrow account (DLD FAQ, as of 25 September 2026).

Use the official fields as comparison evidence, not as a substitute for the actual payment instruction. The project escrow verification workflow shows the full project-name, developer-name, bank and account match. If an offered payment route and the official project record do not reconcile, the mismatch remains unresolved until DLD, RERA, the account trustee, the developer's official channel or a licensed professional confirms the current route.

Cancellation and refund wording comes from the actual form

There is no support in the official pages reviewed for a universal pre-SPA reservation refund percentage. The amount returned, any deduction and the timing all need to be read from the exact form and the facts of that transaction.

Wording to locateQuestion it answersEvidence to keep
Payment and beneficiaryHow much is requested, in which currency, by what date and to which named account?Payment instruction, bank confirmation and receipt
Reservation validityWhen does the reservation expire, and what event ends it earlier?Signed form with version and date
Crediting clauseIs the amount credited toward the purchase price or another named charge?Clause plus the later statement showing the credit
Buyer withdrawal or cancellationWhat event counts as withdrawal, and what notice method is specified?Notice and proof of delivery
Refund and deductionsDoes the text state a refund, a deduction, a forfeiture or a condition that must happen first?Exact clause and calculation supplied by the named party
SPA deadlineBy when must the SPA be issued or signed, and what happens if it is not?Draft or signed SPA and dated correspondence
Order of documentsDoes the form say that the SPA replaces, supplements or takes priority over earlier wording?Both documents, kept together

Dubai's amended Article 11 describes purchaser default under an off-plan sale agreement concluded with a developer (Dubai legislation, checked 25 September 2026). That supports one limited inference: Article 11 does not by itself prove the outcome under an unsigned SPA or an unreviewed reservation form. Whether a particular form creates obligations, and how its clauses interact with the transaction, is a document-specific legal question.

Follow the evidence from reservation to Oqood

The clean workflow adds one record at a time and never uses a later document to fill a blank in an earlier one.

  1. Save the offered form exactly as received

    Record the file version, date, named parties, project, unit description and every attachment. If no form has been supplied, there is no form to describe or infer.

  2. Reconcile the payment route

    Match the project and developer names, bank, escrow account and payment reference against DLD's Project Status fields and the developer's current official instruction. Keep the page date with the result.

  3. Keep payment proof separate

    Retain the bank confirmation and formal receipt. Link them to the form through the amount, date, beneficiary and reference, while keeping them as distinct records.

  4. Compare the SPA before treating it as the next stage

    SPA means sale and purchase agreement, the main sale contract. Check that its parties, unit, price, payment schedule, credit for any earlier amount, cancellation wording and attachments agree with the reservation file.

  5. Track provisional registration

    DLD's service says the developer submits the signed sale through Oqood and the purchaser receives a provisional registration e-certificate by email. The current term is registration within 90 days from SPA signing (DLD, as of 25 September 2026).

The Oqood versus title deed record guide picks up from this point. Oqood records the off-plan sale provisionally; it is not the completed property's title deed.

An AED 2,000,000 example isolates the official registration lines

On an illustrative AED 2,000,000 sale, the two published percentage charges are AED 40,000 each. The calculation uses only DLD's current initial-sale service fee lines and assumes no reservation amount, instalment or document-specific administration charge.

Published lineRecalculationAmountDLD label
Seller percentage chargeAED 2,000,000 × 2%AED 40,000Seller
Purchaser percentage chargeAED 2,000,000 × 2%AED 40,000Purchaser
Percentage subtotalAED 40,000 + AED 40,000AED 80,000Both percentage lines
Knowledge feePublished fixed lineAED 10Party allocation not stated on the page
Innovation feePublished fixed lineAED 10Party allocation not stated on the page
Fixed-fee subtotalAED 10 + AED 10AED 20Both fixed lines
Registration lines before developer self-registrationAED 80,000 + AED 20AED 80,020Percentage and fixed lines
Developer self-registrationPublished fixed lineAED 1,000Developer self-registration
All published line items in this illustrationAED 80,020 + AED 1,000AED 81,020Arithmetic total, not one party's bill

DLD publishes the seller 2%, purchaser 2%, AED 10 Knowledge fee, AED 10 Innovation fee and AED 1,000 developer self-registration line on the same service page (DLD, as of 25 September 2026). The AED 81,020 total is not a statement that the buyer pays every line. It is a transparent sum of all published lines, with the developer fee kept visibly separate. The actual reservation payment and its treatment must come from the transaction documents.

Official initial-sale registration fee split on an illustrative AED 2 million sale
The official percentage lines total AED 80,000; fixed charges and developer self-registration remain separately labelled.

Use the record that answers the question

The best-fit evidence depends on the fact being tested. A receipt answers whether payment was recorded, the form answers its stated commercial treatment, the SPA answers the agreed sale terms, and the Oqood certificate answers whether the off-plan sale entered DLD's provisional register.

Reader questionStrongest matching record
What did the reservation document say?Exact signed form and attachments
Where did the money go?Bank confirmation, receipt and matched escrow details
Was the amount credited to the sale price?Form or SPA clause plus the developer statement showing the credit
What happens on cancellation before SPA?Exact form, correspondence and transaction-specific legal reading
What sale terms did both parties sign?Executed SPA and attachments
Was the off-plan sale provisionally registered?DLD provisional registration e-certificate

The workflow is strongest for an overseas buyer who needs a file another professional can audit without relying on memory. It does not decide whether a project fits that buyer's return target or risk capacity.

What is off-plan property in Dubai?

DLD's initial-sale service covers units sold off-plan and entered by the developer in the provisional register. As of 25 September 2026, the issued buyer document is a provisional registration e-certificate, not a completed title deed (DLD).

Is a reservation form the same as an SPA in Dubai?

No. DLD requires the signed SPA for its provisional-registration service. The reservation form's own payment, cancellation and refund effect comes from the wording of the exact form presented for the transaction.

Can a buyer cancel before signing the SPA?

The result cannot be stated universally without the actual reservation form, payment record and transaction facts. Article 11 of the 2020 amendment addresses default under an off-plan sale agreement; it does not supply missing terms for an unreviewed reservation document (Dubai legislation, checked 25 September 2026).

What is Oqood and what document does the buyer receive?

Oqood is DLD's portal route for the developer to register an off-plan sale in the provisional register. DLD lists the output as a provisional registration e-certificate sent to the purchaser by email (DLD, as of 25 September 2026).

How long does Oqood registration take after the SPA?

DLD's current term says the SPA must be registered in the provisional register within 90 days of signing. Its page separately lists the service time as a business day, which should not be read as the full elapsed journey from reservation to registration (DLD, as of 25 September 2026).

Should an off-plan reservation payment go to escrow?

DLD's current FAQ says all amounts received from buyers of off-plan units are deposited in the project escrow account (DLD FAQ, as of 25 September 2026). For the specific transaction, compare the beneficiary, bank, project and escrow details with DLD's current Project Status record and the developer's official instruction before treating them as matched.

Last updated
CategoryInvest
Written byLida MoghaddamLida Moghaddam

Architect-turned-real-estate-specialist based in Dubai. She helps buyers, sellers, and investors read property with a designer's eye — structure, location, and long-term value.

More from Invest

View all Invest
Newsletter

The sharpest read on Dubai real estate.

Sourced guides, original data, and plain-language process reporting — in your inbox every week. No listings, no sales pressure.

Free. Unsubscribe anytime.