Non-resident mortgage costs beyond the deposit

Non-resident mortgage costs beyond the deposit

Posted on byLida MoghaddamLida Moghaddam

Disclaimer: This article is for general informational purposes only. It is based on cited public data and published under Lida Moghaddam's RERA-licensed masthead. It is not financial, legal, or investment advice. Dubai's property market moves quickly, so figures, yields, and rules may change or become outdated by the time you read this. Verify current information with the relevant authority or a qualified professional before acting. Read the full disclaimer.

Table of contents+

Dubai Land Department lists a 4% total sale-registration charge, split as 2% seller and 2% buyer on its ordinary completed-property service, plus a mortgage-registration charge of 0.25% of the mortgage value, as of 20 September 2026. For a non-resident buyer, the published buyer share sits outside the deposit, alongside the lender's own approval, valuation and insurance charges.

The cash ledger has four payment moments

The costs do not necessarily arrive together. Mashreq's cited KFS publishes the bank amounts but does not establish the collection point for each one, so pre-approval, valuation, processing and insurance timing must be confirmed in the final offer. DLD's cited pages separately identify the sale and mortgage-registration service charges.

Cash line beyond the depositCurrent published amountWhen it enters the ledgerSource and scope
Pre-approvalAED 1,050Lender-specific; confirm in the final offerMashreq mortgage KFS, revised 19 June 2026; named lender example
Property valuationAED 2,625Lender-specific; confirm in the final offerMashreq KFS and HSBC's non-resident page, checked 20 September 2026; both currently publish AED 2,625
Bank processing1.05% of the loan amountLender-specific; confirm in the final offerMashreq KFS, revised 19 June 2026; named lender example, not a market average
DLD sale registration4% total, listed as seller 2% and buyer 2%At transferDLD Property Sale Registration, checked 20 September 2026
Sale service partner and recordsAED 4,000 plus VAT at AED 500,000 or above, plus AED 250 title deed, AED 250 villa or apartment map, AED 10 knowledge and AED 10 innovationAt transferDLD Property Sale Registration, checked 20 September 2026
DLD mortgage registration0.25% of mortgage value, plus AED 250 title deed and AED 4,000 service-partner fee plus VAT; AED 10 knowledge plus AED 10 innovation for each relevant drawingAt mortgage registrationDLD mortgage-registration service, checked 20 September 2026
Property insurance0.06% of property valueAnnual payable amount; cited KFS does not state the collection dateMashreq KFS, revised 19 June 2026; confirm timing in the final offer

The bank-variable rows are intentionally not turned into a Dubai-wide range. HSBC's customer tiers provide a second named example, not a blended market norm.

HSBC customer tierPublished arrangement feeSource date
Personal Banking and Advance1.05% of approved loan, minimum AED 5,250HSBC mortgage rates and fees, checked 20 September 2026
Private Bank and Premier0.525% of approved loan, minimum AED 5,250HSBC mortgage rates and fees, checked 20 September 2026
Four-stage Dubai mortgage cash path from approval to registration
The ledger separates bank charges from DLD's 4% total sale charge and the 0.25% mortgage-registration charge; the final offer fixes lender collection dates.

CBUAE ceilings do not set a non-resident offer

The official LTV limit is the outside boundary for regulated lenders. It does not require a bank to lend at that percentage. The CBUAE mortgage regulation states that lenders may adopt more conservative limits and defines LTV against the residential property's appraised value.

The CBUAE's accessible Financial Stability Report 2024 publishes the expatriate ratios below. They are dated to that report's 2024 period; a bank's current offer can use lower ratios.

Property and useMaximum regulatory LTVCash implication before fees
First owner-occupied home below AED 5 million80%At least 20% equity against the appraised value
First owner-occupied home above AED 5 million70%At least 30% equity against the appraised value
Second or subsequent home, or investment property60%At least 40% equity against the appraised value
Off-plan property, all purchaser categories50%At least 50% equity against the appraised value

For someone living in the UK, India or another GCC country, the written bank offer matters more than the regulatory maximum. A non-resident product can use a lower LTV, different eligibility filters or a smaller maximum loan. The accessible CBUAE mortgage-regulation PDF also requires an independent on-site valuation by a qualified third party before an irrevocable lending commitment.

That creates two separate numbers. The purchase contract fixes what is owed to complete the sale. The bank's valuation helps fix how much the lender will advance. If those values differ, the buyer's cash fills the difference.

Approval and valuation charges stay in the bank ledger

The approval-stage ledger is bank-specific, so the bank's current Key Facts Statement and final offer letter are the controlling documents. A Key Facts Statement, or KFS, is the lender's standard disclosure of product terms, charges and examples.

Mashreq's KFS revised 19 June 2026 publishes an AED 1,050 pre-approval charge, a fresh-loan processing fee of 1.05% of the loan amount, an AED 2,625 property-evaluation fee and property insurance at 0.06% of property value. These figures are useful because they form one internally consistent lender example. They are not presented as the standard price across UAE banks.

The valuation fee pays for the lender's collateral assessment. It does not add to the property value and does not reserve the property. The accessible CBUAE mortgage-regulation PDF says the appraisal must be independent of the borrower, seller, developer or contractor and the loan decision process, as checked 20 September 2026.

Transfer and mortgage registration are separate DLD lines

The sale registration records the change of ownership. The mortgage registration records the financing entity's security over the property. They are related at completion, but DLD publishes different charges for each service.

For an ordinary completed-property sale, DLD's Property Sale Registration page lists seller 2% and buyer 2%, making 4% total, as of 20 September 2026. It also lists an AED 4,000 service-partner fee plus VAT where the price is at least AED 500,000, AED 250 for a villa or apartment map, AED 250 for title-deed issuance, AED 10 knowledge and AED 10 innovation.

For the mortgage-registration service, DLD lists 0.25% of the mortgage value, AED 250 for title-deed issuance, AED 10 knowledge and AED 10 innovation for each relevant drawing, and an AED 4,000 service-partner fee plus VAT, as of 20 September 2026. The UAE Federal Tax Authority's current VAT page shows 5%, making the AED 4,000 service fee AED 4,200 including VAT. This worked example uses that published ordinary mortgage-registration schedule and does not import an exemption from DLD's distinct mortgaged-property sale service.

DLD's pages expose different service routes and fee treatments. The booked trustee office and the lender can identify which route applies and whether registration occurs in one combined appointment. The current trustee-office transfer guide explains the transfer-day handoff, while the overseas buyer's title-check file covers the official records to reconcile before funds move.

Worked example: AED 2 million purchase, AED 1.9 million valuation

This example isolates cash mechanics. Its property price, valuation and approved LTV are hypothetical inputs. The bank fees come from Mashreq's June 2026 KFS, and the government charges come from the current DLD pages cited above.

Financing inputs

InputAmountCalculation role
Agreed purchase priceAED 2,000,000Contract price
Bank valuationAED 1,900,000Appraised value used for this loan calculation
Assumed approved LTV60%Hypothetical offer input, not a quoted product promise
LoanAED 1,140,000AED 1,900,000 × 60%
Buyer equity, before other costsAED 860,000AED 2,000,000 − AED 1,140,000
Valuation shortfall inside that equityAED 100,000AED 2,000,000 − AED 1,900,000

The AED 860,000 is the deposit or equity contribution in this example. It contains AED 760,000, which is 40% of the bank valuation, plus the AED 100,000 difference between the agreed price and the bank valuation.

Cash beyond that AED 860,000 equity

LineWorked amountVisible calculation
Mashreq pre-approval exampleAED 1,050Published fixed charge
Mashreq valuation exampleAED 2,625Published fixed charge
Mashreq processing exampleAED 11,970AED 1,140,000 × 1.05%
DLD buyer sale chargeAED 40,000AED 2,000,000 × 2%, following DLD's published buyer share
DLD sale service partner, title and apartment recordsAED 4,720AED 4,200 including VAT + AED 250 + AED 250 + AED 10 + AED 10
DLD mortgage registrationAED 7,300AED 2,850 at 0.25% + AED 250 + AED 4,200 service-partner fee including VAT; per-drawing additions excluded
Upfront fees beyond the depositAED 67,665Approval, valuation, processing, sale-registration and mortgage-registration lines
Mashreq first annual property-insurance premiumAED 1,200AED 2,000,000 × 0.06%; cited KFS does not state its collection date
First-year illustrated totalAED 68,865AED 67,665 upfront + AED 1,200 first annual premium

The AED 67,665 upfront subtotal follows the ordinary sale and mortgage-registration schedules cited beside the table. Adding Mashreq's AED 1,200 first annual insurance premium produces an illustrated first-year total of AED 68,865, but the cited KFS does not establish the insurance collection date. The example excludes DLD knowledge and innovation additions on the mortgage record because the mortgage page states AED 10 plus AED 10 for each relevant drawing without fixing the number of drawings for this hypothetical transaction. It also excludes contractual items not requested in this ledger, such as broker commission or a developer's own NOC charge.

Valuation shortfall calculation for an AED 2 million Dubai purchase
A lower appraisal changes the loan base: the contract price remains AED 2 million while the worked loan is 60% of AED 1.9 million.

A valuation shortfall is a cash-timing issue

The shortfall does not create a new DLD fee. It changes the split between lender money and buyer money. In the example, the lender advances AED 1.14 million because the assumed 60% LTV is applied to AED 1.9 million, not the AED 2 million contract price.

The buyer's equity therefore reaches AED 860,000 before AED 67,665 of worked upfront fees, plus the AED 1,200 first annual insurance premium under DLD's published split. If an approval was planned against the agreed price rather than the eventual appraisal, the extra AED 100,000 appears after valuation and before completion. That is why the valuation date belongs in the cash calendar, not only in the credit file.

The contract controls the buyer's obligations to the seller. The lender's final offer controls the approved loan. Any amendment, exit right or funding deadline depends on the actual contract and offer terms, so those documents need transaction-specific legal and banking review.

Build the ledger from documents, not remembered percentages

The shortest reliable file has one line for each payee and one source beside it. Use the lender's current KFS for bank charges, the final offer for the approved loan and collection dates, the valuation report for the appraised value, DLD's current service page for government charges, and the trustee's written appointment statement for the exact transfer-day amount.

  1. Lock the bank charges

    Record each pre-approval, processing, valuation and insurance amount from the current KFS and final offer. Keep lender examples separated by bank and customer tier.

  2. Replace the expected value with the appraisal

    Recalculate the loan from the value and LTV used in the written offer. Put any gap between that result and the contract price into the buyer-equity line.

  3. Get the transfer statement

    Ask the lender or booked trustee to itemise the DLD sale, mortgage-registration, service-partner and record charges for the selected service route.

  4. Match payee and payment date

    Keep approval cash, valuation cash and transfer-day instruments separate. Record the beneficiary and accepted payment channel exactly as issued for the transaction.

Sources used for the dated ledger

The regulatory ceilings come from the accessible CBUAE Financial Stability Report 2024 and are presented with that report period. The appraised-value definition, conservative-lending allowance and independent on-site valuation rule appear in the accessible CBUAE mortgage-regulation PDF. The government charges come from DLD's ordinary sale and mortgage-registration pages, both checked 20 September 2026. The named lender example comes from Mashreq's KFS revised 19 June 2026.

Can a non-resident get a mortgage in Dubai?

Yes, current product pages from HSBC, Mashreq and FAB describe non-resident mortgages, checked 20 September 2026. Eligibility, LTV, property acceptance and final approval remain lender-specific.

Is the DLD 4% charge included in the mortgage deposit?

No. The deposit is buyer equity against the purchase price. DLD's ordinary sale page lists the separate 4% government line as 2% seller and 2% buyer, as checked 20 September 2026.

What happens if the bank valuation is below the agreed price?

For a given approved LTV, the loan is calculated against the lender's appraised value. The purchase contract still uses its agreed price, so the difference increases buyer-funded equity unless the transaction documents provide another outcome.

Are mortgage processing and valuation fees the same at every bank?

No. Mashreq's KFS revised 19 June 2026 publishes a 1.05% processing fee and AED 2,625 valuation fee. HSBC's pages checked 20 September 2026 publish customer-tier arrangement fees and the same AED 2,625 valuation figure, illustrating why each lender must remain a named example.

When are mortgage-registration fees paid?

DLD's mortgage-registration page says the bank submits the electronic transaction and DLD fees are deducted from the bank account in that route. The lender and trustee can state how and when those amounts are collected from the borrower for the specific completion.

Last updated
CategoryBuy
Written byLida MoghaddamLida Moghaddam

Architect-turned-real-estate-specialist based in Dubai. She helps buyers, sellers, and investors read property with a designer's eye — structure, location, and long-term value.

Keep reading

View all Buy
Newsletter

The sharpest read on Dubai real estate.

Sourced guides, original data, and plain-language process reporting — in your inbox every week. No listings, no sales pressure.

Free. Unsubscribe anytime.