Developer NOC for a Dubai resale: request, fee evidence and expiry

Developer NOC for a Dubai resale: request, fee evidence and expiry

Posted on byLida MoghaddamLida Moghaddam

Disclaimer: This article is for general informational purposes only. It is based on cited public data and published under Lida Moghaddam's RERA-licensed masthead. It is not financial, legal, or investment advice. Dubai's property market moves quickly, so figures, yields, and rules may change or become outdated by the time you read this. Verify current information with the relevant authority or a qualified professional before acting. Read the full disclaimer.

Table of contents+

For a freehold-area resale, the Dubai Land Department requires the developer's electronic no-objection certificate, or e-NOC, in the sale-registration file. As of September 2026, DLD does not publish one Dubai-wide NOC fee or expiry period, while current Nakheel and wasl pages show that the seller must work from the named developer route, invoice and issued NOC.

For the end-to-end sequence, start with how to sell property in Dubai. This companion deals only with the developer clearance file.

The NOC sits after the deal identifies the buyer and before DLD registration

The practical slot is narrow: assemble the developer request once the transaction has a named buyer and settled terms, then obtain the issued NOC before presenting the sale for registration.

That placement comes from the current records. DLD's Property Sale Registration page requires identity evidence for both parties and a developer e-NOC for a sale in a freehold area. Nakheel asks an owner to choose the title-deed or pre-title-deed resale route and upload that route's documents. wasl says buyer and seller identification will always be required for its resale, transfer and gifting service (DLD, Nakheel, wasl, accessed September 2026).

For an agent-led resale, the Form F clause map shows how to keep contract dates, deposit evidence and the completion file aligned. It does not turn one developer's checklist into a Dubai-wide rule. The developer's current route remains the source for when a request can be submitted and what must accompany it.

Four-stage Dubai resale NOC evidence flow from agreed terms to DLD transfer
The NOC request sits between an identified transaction file and DLD sale registration.

DLD's universal sale-registration requirement is narrow

DLD defines the common registration evidence, not one common developer service.

For individuals, the current sale-registration page names the Emirates ID of seller and buyer for identity verification, or valid passports for non-resident foreigners. In a freehold area, it also names a no-objection e-certificate from the developer through Dubai REST (DLD Property Sale Registration, as of September 2026).

The same DLD page does not state a universal developer NOC application form, fee, processing time or validity period. Those fields cannot be filled from a general Dubai estimate. They have to come from the developer's current service page, transaction-specific invoice and issued certificate.

This distinction matters because the developer checks its own property records before issuing the transfer clearance. DLD then requires the resulting e-NOC in the registration file. The developer service and DLD registration are connected stages, but they are not the same fee schedule or document checklist.

Current developer routes do not use one rulebook

The current first-party evidence shows the variation directly. The comparison below is dated September 2026 and applies only to the two named live routes.

Current published routeRequest and clearance evidenceDisclosed administration feePublished processing timePublished validity
Nakheel title-deed resaleNakheel portal, My Nakheel app or service centre; title deed and stated identity, utility, mortgage and service-charge recordsAED 500 + 5% VAT = AED 5252 to 3 working days expected30 days; reapplication and fee after expiry
wasl resale, transfer and giftingDubai REST, with an email route for published exceptions; buyer and seller ID; service charges and listed account issues clearedApp route: AED 500 + 5% VAT = AED 525 before any separately communicated additionsApp: 3 to 5 working days; email: 7 to 10 working days after paymentUnresolved on the live page: read the issued NOC

The VAT totals are arithmetic, not extra developer claims. The Federal Tax Authority's current calculator identifies VAT at 5%, so AED 500 plus AED 25 VAT equals AED 525 (FTA, accessed September 2026). Nakheel says expiry requires a new application and another AED 500 plus VAT. The wasl page discloses neither an expiry period nor a reissue price, so neither belongs in a wasl seller's current budget until the issued NOC or a current service response supplies it.

Nakheel and wasl current resale NOC evidence folders comparing published fee and validity
Current first-party route terms replace a market-wide fee or expiry assumption.

Build the request from the developer's own checklist

The clean request begins with route selection, because the route determines the documents.

  1. Identify the exact property route

    Confirm whether the developer treats the file as a resale with title deed, a pre-title-deed transfer, a plot, a company-owned unit or another named case. Nakheel separates title-deed and pre-title-deed routes. wasl publishes exceptions to its Dubai REST route (Nakheel, wasl, accessed September 2026).

  2. Match identities and property records

    Use the names and property details that appear in the title and transaction file. DLD names seller and buyer identity evidence. Nakheel's title-deed route adds the title deed and its listed identity, utility, mortgage and service-charge records. wasl always asks for buyer and seller identification, then requests other documents through the applicable route (DLD, Nakheel, wasl, accessed September 2026).

  3. Clear only the items the route names

    Nakheel asks for service-charge payment, including provisional service charges, on its title-deed route. wasl says service charges and listed account issues must be clear. Keep the relevant clearance result in the file (Nakheel, wasl, accessed September 2026).

  4. Submit and retain the invoice

    Use the developer's current app, portal, Dubai REST or stated exception route. Save the request reference, transaction-specific invoice and payment evidence. If an amount is not exposed publicly, label it unresolved until the invoice arrives.

  5. Read the issued NOC before booking completion

    Check the property, parties, issue date, expiry and any stated conditions on the issued record. Align the registration appointment to that actual window. DLD requires the e-NOC in the freehold-area sale-registration file (DLD, as of September 2026).

Treat the invoice and issued NOC as the controlling records

The transaction-specific invoice proves the amount charged. The issued NOC proves the validity window and property details accepted for that request.

A search-result estimate cannot do either job. Even the two current examples above need qualifications. Nakheel's published list changes with title-deed, pre-title-deed, plot and off-plan facts. wasl says additional charges may be communicated through email or the app, and it gives no public validity period on the compared page. The Emaar document supplies historical evidence of what its sheet said in December 2020, not proof of a current transaction charge.

That is why this article does not manufacture a seller-cost ledger. A ledger would need the actual developer invoice, its payment status and any transaction-specific clearance amount. Until those exist, a checklist is more accurate than a subtotal built from assumed lines.

Keep a document checklist, not a guessed total

The seller file should let another reader reproduce what happened without relying on a general fee range.

File itemWhat it provesSource of truth
Correct developer routeThe request matches the property's registration stage and ownership caseCurrent developer service page or published form
Seller and buyer identity evidenceThe parties match the registration fileDLD requirement plus the developer's route-specific checklist
Property recordThe correct unit is being clearedTitle deed or the exact alternative named by the route
Clearance resultThe developer's stated account and property checks were completedDeveloper response, statement or clearance record
Invoice and payment evidenceThe actual NOC charge and payment statusTransaction-specific developer invoice and receipt
Issued e-NOCProperty details, issue date, expiry and conditionsThe issued developer record in the transaction file
Registration evidenceThe e-NOC reached the DLD sale-registration fileDubai REST or the applicable registration record

The request reference, invoice and issued NOC should agree on the property and route. If a public page and the transaction record carry different terms, retain the current developer response with the file and use the issued document for that transaction.

FAQ, checked 25 September 2026

Is a developer NOC required for every Dubai resale?

DLD's current Property Sale Registration page requires a developer e-NOC for a sale in a freehold area. This article does not extend that wording to every property or registration route; check the official service that matches the property (DLD, as of September 2026).

How much is a developer NOC for a Dubai resale?

DLD does not publish one developer NOC amount on its current sale-registration page. In the current September 2026 examples, Nakheel and wasl's Dubai REST app route each publish AED 500 before VAT, while wasl may communicate additional fees. Use the actual invoice for the transaction.

How long is a Dubai developer NOC valid?

There is no universal period in the current evidence reviewed. Nakheel publishes 30 days. The current wasl resale page does not state a period, so read the expiry on the issued NOC (Nakheel, wasl, accessed September 2026).

What happens if the NOC expires before transfer?

Follow the issuing developer's current reissue rule. Nakheel says the owner must reapply and pay AED 500 plus VAT again. No wasl reissue term is stated on the compared page as of September 2026.

Are Emaar's AED 500 fee and 15-day validity current?

The first-party Emaar source carrying those terms is dated December 2020 and says its content may change without notice. This article treats the fee, 1-working-day processing time, 15-day validity and same-fee renewal as December 2020 historical terms, not September 2026 terms.

Is there an official Dubai-wide cap on the developer NOC fee?

No cap is stated on DLD's current Property Sale Registration page, and no current official cap source was established in this research run. Treat a cap claim as unverified until DLD, RERA or the issuing developer supplies the applicable rule.

Last updated
CategorySell
Written byLida MoghaddamLida Moghaddam

Architect-turned-real-estate-specialist based in Dubai. She helps buyers, sellers, and investors read property with a designer's eye — structure, location, and long-term value.

Keep reading

View all Sell
Newsletter

The sharpest read on Dubai real estate.

Sourced guides, original data, and plain-language process reporting — in your inbox every week. No listings, no sales pressure.

Free. Unsubscribe anytime.