
Dubai eviction notice proof: Article 25 grounds, service and dates
Disclaimer: This article is for general informational purposes only. It is based on cited public data and published under Lida Moghaddam's RERA-licensed masthead. It is not financial, legal, or investment advice. Dubai's property market moves quickly, so figures, yields, and rules may change or become outdated by the time you read this. Verify current information with the relevant authority or a qualified professional before acting. Read the full disclaimer.
Table of contents+
Dubai Law No. 33 of 2008 separates nine grounds for seeking eviction before a lease expires from four grounds available upon expiry, and only two of the nine in-term grounds carry an express 30-day event. Article 25 states that both routes use a Notary Public or registered mail, while the current RDC filing page treats the notice and service report as records for a later eviction claim, not as proof that the ground is true.
Article 25 has two routes, not one notice period
Article 25(1) is the before-expiry route and Article 25(2) is the upon-expiry route. The official English text uses Landlord and Tenant for the first route, while the four upon-expiry grounds refer to what the Real Property owner wishes to do or to the property's condition. That party distinction matters when reading the notice and the document said to support it (Dubai Law No. 33 of 2008, Article 25, accessed 1 October 2026).
All 13 rows above are a close classification of the official English Article 25 text, accessed 1 October 2026. The source itself notes that the Arabic text prevails if the two language versions conflict. The table does not state that any document is sufficient, or that a tribunal will accept a ground.
The separate Dubai rent increase rules guide covers renewal-price mechanics. A rent-change notice and an Article 25 eviction notice answer different statutory questions.

The 30-day events are confined to two in-term grounds
Only two of the nine Article 25(1) grounds contain express 30-day notice language. Paragraph (a) concerns non-payment after service of a notice requesting payment, unless the parties agreed otherwise. Paragraph (h) concerns failure to comply with an obligation under the law or a lease term after service of a notice requesting compliance. These are returned values from the official text, accessed 1 October 2026.
Article 25(1)(d) also contains the numbers 30 and 90, but they measure how long business premises have been unoccupied: 30 consecutive days or 90 non-consecutive days in one year, unless otherwise agreed. They are not stated as a general cure period for every in-term ground (official Article 25 text, accessed 1 October 2026).
For the four Article 25(2) grounds, the law uses a different calculation. It says the tenant must be notified of the eviction reasons at least 12 months before the eviction date. The text places sale in paragraph 25(2)(d), the upon-expiry route. It does not turn the 12-month record into an early-termination route for the current term.
Article 25 names two service routes
Article 25 closes each route with the same channel words: through a Notary Public or by registered mail. Article 2 of the same law contains a broader general definition of Notice, but the specific Article 25 text names those two routes for eviction notices (Law No. 33 of 2008, accessed 1 October 2026).
The notice document and the service record answer separate questions. The document preserves what the sender stated, including the ground and any date written into it. A notarial or registered-mail record preserves what that channel records about dispatch, notification or acknowledgement. As a record-level distinction, neither one by itself establishes that the factual ground is true, that the statutory conditions are met, or that the Rental Disputes Center will make a particular finding.
The general first-notice file guide shows how to keep the event, contract clause, notice, dispatch, delivery and later filing records separate. This Article 25 companion narrows that method to eviction grounds.
The notice wording depends on the paragraph relied on
Article 25 does not publish a universal eviction-notice form in the official English text reviewed on 1 October 2026. It does, however, identify content for particular routes. Paragraph 25(1)(a) refers to a notice requesting payment. Paragraph 25(1)(h) refers to a notice requesting compliance with the obligation or lease term. Paragraph 25(2) says the tenant must be notified of the eviction reasons.
A readable file can therefore separate three layers without calling any of them a validity test:
The fields in the first two rows are an editorial reading method dated 1 October 2026, not a statutory form and not a model notice for a real tenancy.
The current RDC filing page keeps service proof and ground material separate
The Rental Disputes Center's current Register First Instance Lawsuit (Rental) page lists, for an eviction claim, a copy of the notarised notice with the notification officer's report, or registered post with the receipt acknowledging the notice. It separately lists the latest Ejari, which is the registered tenancy record, party identification or company records, the plaintiff's IBAN letter or bank statement, and any documents supporting the claim. The page says documents must be submitted in Arabic or legally translated and uploaded through the RDC site (RDC service page, accessed 1 October 2026).
That service card describes the current filing input. It does not say that uploading a notice establishes the eviction ground, makes the notice legally sufficient, or determines the first-instance judgment. The distinction is visible in the page itself: service proof is one required-document line, while supporting claim documents are a separate category.
A declared date model keeps the two intervals apart
This editorial date model, dated 1 October 2026, starts with a hypothetical service-event record at 10:00 GST on 1 October 2026. It uses two declared conventions: one marker adds 30 complete 24-hour periods, while the other moves to the same local time 12 calendar months later. The model records intervals only. It does not determine when service legally became effective, how a tribunal counts a statutory period, whether a notice is sufficient, or the date for a real tenancy.
The second interval contains 365 elapsed days because the declared dates run from 1 October 2026 to 1 October 2027. The calculation is independently reproduced in the article's method file. The statutory inputs remain distinct: 30 days appears in two specified Article 25(1) grounds, while 12 months is attached to the named Article 25(2) expiry grounds.

Named sources and scope, checked 1 October 2026
- Dubai Law No. 33 of 2008, official English PDF, accessed 1 October 2026. Used for the Article 2 definition and Article 25 grounds, timing and service wording. The PDF states that the Arabic text prevails in a conflict.
- Rental Disputes Center, Register First Instance Lawsuit (Rental), accessed 1 October 2026. Used only for the current service description, filing records, language requirement and channels.
How much notice is required to evict a tenant in Dubai?
There is no single period covering every Article 25 ground. The official English text, accessed 1 October 2026, gives 30-day events to Article 25(1)(a) and (h), while Article 25(2) requires notice of the reason at least 12 months before the eviction date for its four upon-expiry grounds.
Can a landlord use the sale ground before the tenancy expires?
Article 25(2)(d) places an owner's wish to sell within the upon-expiry route. The same paragraph carries the 12-month notice rule (official law PDF, accessed 1 October 2026).
Does a notarised eviction notice prove the ground?
No. A notarial record can document the notice and the service event it records. The underlying ground has its own factual or official record, and any later RDC finding is a separate step.
What does the RDC currently ask for with an eviction claim?
The first-instance rental lawsuit page lists the notarised notice and notification officer's report, or registered post with receipt of notice acknowledgement. It also lists the latest Ejari, party records, the plaintiff's IBAN record and supporting claim documents (RDC service page, accessed 1 October 2026).
Does the 30-day rule apply to every Article 25(1) ground?
No. In the official English text accessed 1 October 2026, express 30-day notice language appears in paragraph (a) for non-payment and paragraph (h) for non-compliance. The 30-day figure in paragraph (d) measures continuous vacancy of business premises, not a general notice period.
Architect-turned-real-estate-specialist based in Dubai. She helps buyers, sellers, and investors read property with a designer's eye — structure, location, and long-term value.













