Property gifting Dubai: DLD registration, documents and fees (2026)

Property gifting Dubai: DLD registration, documents and fees (2026)

Posted on byLida MoghaddamLida Moghaddam

Disclaimer: This article is for general informational purposes only. It is based on cited public data and published under Lida Moghaddam's RERA-licensed masthead. It is not financial, legal, or investment advice. Dubai's property market moves quickly, so figures, yields, and rules may change or become outdated by the time you read this. Verify current information with the relevant authority or a qualified professional before acting. Read the full disclaimer.

Table of contents

Dubai property gifting through DLD carries a registration charge of 0.125% of property valuation, minimum AED 2,000 (DLD Property Gift Registration, as of 18 October 2026). The published route covers full or partial transfers without compensation to mother, father, spouse, children or companies, subject to its conditions. Relationship documents, valuation and trustee submission establish the registration file.

Gift-registration questionPublished position, as of 18 October 2026
What transaction does the service cover?Full or partial transfer of a gifted property without compensation
Which family relationships are named?Mother, father, spouse and children
Is a company route mentioned?Yes; an entity not previously registered must submit a company registration request
Which property condition applies?The property must not be restricted or granted land
What is the registration charge?0.125% of property valuation, minimum AED 2,000
Where is the application filed?Real Estate Registration Trustees Centers

Source: withlida.com, 18 October 2026, compiled from the DLD gift-registration service card. These are the card's published categories and conditions, not an approval of a particular application.

Last verified: 18 October 2026. Checked by the publication's independent check, 18 October 2026.

For a purchase involving a price paid to a seller, the separate Dubai property registration fees guide covers ordinary sales. Its sale schedule is distinct from the gift-registration schedule below.

Who can use DLD Property Gift Registration in Dubai?

DLD's published gift route covers transfers without compensation to the named family relationships or to companies, provided the property meets the card's conditions (DLD, as of October 2026). Without compensation means the recipient does not pay consideration for the transfer described by this service.

The description permits a full or partial transfer. A full transfer concerns the whole ownership being gifted; a partial transfer concerns a share. That establishes the service's stated scope. It does not specify every possible share arrangement, the calculation basis for each partial gift, or how a particular application will be accepted.

Which family members does the card name?

The named relationships are mother, father, spouse and children. DLD introduces them using the term first-degree relatives. For this registration guide, the named list is the useful boundary: the phrase is not expanded into every person a household considers a close relative.

For example, a parent and child can match their stated relationship to the card and then assemble the relevant evidence. Someone proposing a transfer to a family member outside the named list needs DLD or the trustee to establish the applicable route. This page does not infer either eligibility or a different tariff for that person.

Does mentioning companies establish company eligibility?

The card mentions companies and requires an entity not previously registered to submit a company registration request. It does not publish a complete test for every corporate structure in that description. Company registration and acceptance of the proposed gift are distinct questions.

A company file therefore needs confirmation of the entity's position and the requested transfer. The reference to companies alone does not establish that every mainland, free-zone or overseas entity can receive every property through this service. No company-specific eligibility conclusion follows from the fee percentage.

What happens with restricted or granted land?

The service description states that the property must not be restricted or granted land, as of October 2026. That condition belongs at the eligibility stage, before anyone treats a fee calculation as the cost of an accepted application.

The card does not define every restriction or provide a procedure for resolving one. The relevant question for the trustee is whether the identified property qualifies for this published gift-registration service. A family relationship, an identity document and an illustrative fee calculation do not establish that property condition.

What documents are required for property gifting in Dubai?

DLD lists relationship evidence and identity documents, with additional provisions for UAE citizens, representatives and unregistered companies (gift-registration card, as of October 2026). The document categories answer different questions: who the parties are, how they are related and who has authority to act.

File componentDLD's published requirement, checked 18 October 2026How to read the requirement
Marriage evidence for individualsMarriage certificate for married individualsRelationship evidence, separate from identity verification
Birth evidence for childrenBirth certificate for childrenEvidence for the stated parent-child relationship
Translation and attestation of those certificatesBoth must be translated and attested by the UAE embassy in the issuing country and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in that countryThese are the authorities and country wording published on this card
Additional relationship evidenceProof of paternity or kinship from the client's embassy in the UAE is additionally requiredThe card presents this as an additional requirement
Identity through Emirates IDEmirates ID for identity verification only; no copies are takenThe card distinguishes verification from retaining a copy
Identity for non-resident foreignersA valid passport copyThis is the expressly published non-resident identity document
UAE citizensMarriage contract for married individuals or Family BookThe card has a separate UAE-citizen document category
RepresentationA legal power of attorney when someone acts on behalf of the partiesAuthority to represent a party is separate from proof of relationship
Company not previously registeredA company registration requestRegistration of the entity is a separate procedural requirement

Source: withlida.com, 18 October 2026, compiled from the Required Documents and Service Terms fields of DLD Property Gift Registration. The table preserves the stated requirements and does not establish a complete case-specific checklist.

What exactly does DLD say about translation and attestation?

For both the marriage certificate and the child's birth certificate, the card requires translation and attestation by the UAE embassy in the issuing country and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in that country. It then separately requires proof of paternity or kinship from the client's embassy in the UAE.

Those are distinct locations and functions. The UAE embassy reference concerns the country issuing the certificate; the additional kinship evidence concerns the client's embassy located in the UAE. Combining them into a vague instruction to obtain an attested certificate would lose part of the published requirement.

The English card does not specify the translation language in this requirement. It also does not quote translation or attestation prices. The trustee can confirm the accepted presentation of the actual certificates, including the translation and attestation evidence, before submission. This guide does not substitute a different authority or add a translation-language rule.

Can a non-resident use a passport?

The document field expressly accepts a valid passport copy for non-resident foreigners. Elsewhere, the same card's Residency Status field lists UAE Citizen and Resident. Both statements appear on the card, as of October 2026.

The useful distinction is between an expressly listed identity document and confirmation that a particular applicant's complete file is accepted. The passport entry supports the document route; it does not resolve every residency or eligibility question. DLD or the booked trustee remains the source for the specific non-resident application.

Can someone else attend for an owner or recipient?

The service terms require a legal power of attorney when someone acts on behalf of the parties. A power of attorney is the legal authority for a representative to act for another person. A family relationship by itself does not supply the authority document listed in this section.

The card does not set out the wording, overseas execution sequence or charges for every power of attorney. Confirmation of the actual document's acceptance belongs with the trustee. The same distinction applies to a company: an entity's registration requirement does not answer every question about its representative's authority.

What is the DLD fee for gifting property in Dubai?

The published registration charge is 0.125% of the property valuation, with a minimum of AED 2,000 (DLD, as of October 2026). The minimum determines the charge whenever the percentage calculation produces a smaller amount.

The arithmetic is:

Registration charge = the higher of AED 2,000 or property valuation × 0.00125.

Here, 0.00125 is the decimal form of 0.125%. The valuation input is the value used for this registration calculation. An owner's estimate, a portal asking price or the original purchase price is not established as that input merely because it is available.

Hypothetical full-property calculations

The following assumed valuations demonstrate the formula. They are not actual DLD valuations, market prices or quotations for a family transaction. Each example assumes a full-property gift and uses the selected valuation as the fee-bearing input.

Hypothetical caseAssumed valuationPercentage calculationRegistration charge only
Minimum branchAED 1,000,000AED 1,000,000 × 0.00125 = AED 1,250AED 2,000, because the minimum is higher
Equality pointAED 1,600,000AED 1,600,000 × 0.00125 = AED 2,000AED 2,000
Percentage branchAED 3,000,000AED 3,000,000 × 0.00125 = AED 3,750AED 3,750, because the percentage exceeds the minimum

Source: withlida.com, 18 October 2026. Publication calculations using hypothetical inputs and the rate and minimum on the DLD gift-registration card, verified October 2026. All other charges are excluded.

The equality point is a calculation, not another DLD fee band: AED 2,000 ÷ 0.00125 = AED 1,600,000. It explains exactly where the minimum and percentage produce the same registration charge.

Two hypothetical valuations showing the minimum and percentage branches of the gift registration charge
Source: withlida.com, 18 October 2026. Assumed valuations illustrate the registration charge only, using DLD's published rate and minimum.

For a partial gift, the card establishes that partial transfers are within scope but does not explain the detailed fee-bearing valuation method. Multiplying an assumed whole-property valuation by a proposed ownership share would introduce an unconfirmed input. The trustee needs to confirm the valuation basis for that particular partial transfer before the same formula becomes a transaction-specific calculation.

Which title, map and service-partner charges are separate?

The gift card publishes additional document and government fees separately from the percentage registration charge, and then gives a separate service-partner schedule (DLD, as of October 2026). A complete quotation needs the applicable lines identified for the actual property and application.

Additional fee label on the gift cardPublished amount, as of 18 October 2026Scope to establish
Title Deed Certificate Issuance FeeAED 250The document issuance line
Unified Map under Dubai MunicipalityAED 225Whether this map category applies
Map for lands not under Dubai MunicipalityAED 100Whether this land-map category applies
Villas and ApartmentsAED 250The card's separately listed property-category line
Knowledge feeAED 10Separate government fee
Innovation feeAED 10Separate government fee

Source: withlida.com, 18 October 2026, from the Additional Fees field of DLD Property Gift Registration. The card's labels are retained; its map and property-category lines are not summed into a universal package.

How does the gift card describe service-partner fees?

The service-partner section uses sale value as its stated basis even though the service description concerns a gift without compensation. Its published breakpoint is AED 2,000,000, as of October 2026.

Wording of the gift card's value conditionPublished service-partner fee, checked 18 October 2026
Sale value is AED 2,000,000 or moreAED 4,000 + VAT
Sale value is less than AED 2,000,000AED 2,000 + VAT

Source: withlida.com, 18 October 2026, from the Service Partner Fees field of DLD Property Gift Registration. The term sale value is DLD's wording on this gift-service card.

The publication does not replace sale value with valuation, interpret a gift as having a zero value for this purpose, or select a band from the hypothetical examples. The booked trustee needs to confirm the applicability and basis of these service-partner charges for the proposed gift.

The card states these fees plus VAT, without specifying a VAT rate in this field. Accordingly, the figures remain plus VAT here. No ordinary-sale breakpoint is imported and no universal all-in total is presented.

Who pays the charges?

The gift card does not allocate these charges between the existing owner and intended recipient. Lida's confirmed resale practice concerns a buyer usually funding the transfer charge and typically paying a buyer's agency commission, with the allocation confirmed in the sale contract and agency agreement (practice confirmed 21 September 2026). Those sale practices do not establish a payer or a commission for a gift.

Any transaction-specific fee allocation needs its own written basis. The gift service itself is the source for its published charges; an agreement between participants is the source for their agreed allocation.

Is a valuation needed before gift registration?

For gifted land, DLD requires a property evaluation request at a Real Estate Trustee Center before applying for registration; for apartments and villas, the card says smart valuation is available (DLD service terms, as of October 2026).

That wording establishes an order for gifted land. The evaluation request precedes the registration application. Arriving with relationship documents does not replace that earlier stage, and a calculation using an assumed valuation does not provide a valuation result.

For an apartment or villa, the published reference to smart valuation identifies an available valuation method. The gift card does not describe a complete smart-valuation application, promise an inspection outcome, or quote a valuation fee in this section.

The practical distinction is between obtaining the value used in the file and applying the registration percentage to that value. An assumed value makes the formula understandable. The accepted value and relevant application details make the calculation specific to the property.

For an owner comparing paperwork across different property types, the useful questions are therefore precise: is this the gifted-land evaluation stage, or the apartment/villa smart-valuation route; what valuation result or reference is required in this file; and which value will the trustee use for the registration charge? The card provides the procedural starting point rather than a complete valuation quotation.

Where is the gift application filed, and what are the steps?

The published filing channel is Real Estate Registration Trustees Centers, and the card names a Gift Form (DLD, as of October 2026). A trustee center is the service partner through which the published registration application is submitted.

The card's payment channels do not establish a separate online filing route. Its listed application sequence is the trustee-center sequence below, after any applicable earlier valuation or company-registration requirement has been addressed.

  1. Visit the trustee center

    DLD's first published step is to visit the nearest Real Estate Trustee Center. The specific file needs to match the gift service, the property and the parties or their authorised representatives.

  2. Submit the required documents

    DLD says to submit the required documents with no key document missing. The relationship evidence, identity route and any representation or company requirement belong to that file.

  3. Employee review and system approval

    An employee reviews and approves the request through the system. Submission and review are separate from preparing the documents beforehand.

  4. Pay the service fees and collect the receipt

    The card's next step is to pay the service fees, if any, and collect the receipt. The separately published fee schedule remains relevant to the actual assessed charges.

  5. Receive the documents by email

    DLD's final published procedural step is receipt of the issued documents by email. The card lists the possible document types separately.

Source: DLD Property Gift Registration, Service Procedures, verified 18 October 2026.

DLD gift registration sequence from trustee visit and documents through system review, fees and receipt, then email outputs
Source: withlida.com, 18 October 2026, adapted from DLD's gift-registration procedure. Any applicable earlier valuation stage is separate.

Which payment methods are listed?

The card lists ePay, Dubai Pay, Noqodi Wallet and Manager Cheque, as of October 2026. A manager cheque is a bank-issued payment instrument. The card's list identifies payment methods; it does not provide the exact payee, instrument allocation or funding instructions for every file.

The relevant payment details need confirmation with the booked trustee once the application charges are identified. No cheque beneficiary is inferred from the general payment-method list.

For an ordinary sale, the separate trustee-office transfer-day guide explains the sale documents and payment sequence. Its purchase-balance and mortgage stages do not become gift-registration requirements merely because both services use trustee centers.

What documents are issued, and how long does registration take?

DLD lists Electronic Title Deed, Usufruct Title Deed and Map Statement e-Certificate in the gift card's Issued Documents field, with delivery by email in its procedure (DLD, as of October 2026). The appropriate output depends on the registered file; the list does not promise every document type for every gift.

The card lists Electronic Title Deed and Usufruct Title Deed separately, alongside Map Statement e-Certificate. It does not map each output to every type of application. For a particular gift, confirmation of the registered right and corresponding document belongs with the trustee.

The fee receipt belongs to the payment stage. The electronic documents belong to the later document-delivery stage. The receipt alone is not described as the final property-right output.

DLD publishes a 25-minute service time, as of October 2026. That is an attributed processing indicator for this service. It does not measure the complete period needed to obtain overseas certificates, translations, attestations, embassy evidence, an accepted power of attorney, valuation or company registration.

Nor does the card provide a single duration covering preparation, travel, any waiting, system review and document delivery in every case. The published indicator can describe the service without becoming an end-to-end completion promise.

Property gifting Dubai FAQ, verified 18 October 2026

The answers below use the DLD Property Gift Registration card as verified on 18 October 2026.

How can I gift my property to someone else in Dubai?

DLD publishes a trustee-center route for full or partial transfers without compensation to mother, father, spouse, children or companies, subject to the service conditions. The property must not be restricted or granted land. The relationship, identity, valuation and any representative or company requirements need to match the specific file (DLD, as of October 2026).

What is the DLD fee for gifting property in Dubai?

The registration charge is 0.125% of property valuation, minimum AED 2,000. Additional document, government and service-partner fees are separate. The service-partner section uses sale value wording and an AED 2,000,000 breakpoint, whose application to the gift needs trustee confirmation (DLD, as of October 2026).

How can I calculate the transfer costs for a property gift?

For the registration charge alone, use the higher of AED 2,000 and the accepted fee-bearing valuation multiplied by 0.00125. The worked examples above use assumed valuations. A complete file-specific quotation also needs the applicable additional charges and confirmed service-partner treatment (DLD schedule and publication calculation, October 2026).

What are the steps to transfer a property as a gift?

The card lists a trustee visit, complete document submission, employee review and approval through the system, payment and receipt, then documents by email. For gifted land, a property evaluation request at a trustee center precedes the registration application. Smart valuation is available for apartments and villas (DLD, as of October 2026).

What is the best way to transfer property between family members?

For a transfer without compensation within the card's named relationships, this service provides the published gift-registration procedure. It explains registration rather than whether a family should transfer property. A purchase for consideration belongs to the separate sale process; estate-planning choices require their own professional assessment (DLD service scope, October 2026).

What is the best way to transfer property after death?

This gift card does not publish an inheritance-registration procedure or determine succession rights. Its description concerns registering a gift without compensation. DLD or an appropriately licensed legal professional is the relevant source for the separate procedure and the particular family's circumstances (scope of the card checked October 2026).

Change log: 18 October 2026 · First published · Gift-service scope, documents, fees, valuation sequence and outputs checked against DLD's current service card.

Subscribe to the withlida newsletter for dated Dubai property process explainers.

Last updated
CategoryBuy
Written byLida MoghaddamLida Moghaddam

Architect-turned-real-estate-specialist based in Dubai. She helps buyers, sellers, and investors read property with a designer's eye — structure, location, and long-term value.

View all Buy
Newsletter

Sourced guides, original data, and plain-language process reporting — in your inbox every week. No listings, no sales pressure.

Free. Unsubscribe anytime.