Umm Suqeim: family homes, school routes and rental costs (2026)
Areas

Umm Suqeim: family homes, school routes and rental costs (2026)

Umm Suqeim suits families seeking villa space or a home in a named apartment community, with daily journeys checked from the exact address. A residential villa requires an AED 4,000 refundable deposit with DEWA, Dubai's electricity and water authority, separate from rent and activation charges (DEWA, as of October 2026). The strongest fit depends on the home format, school campus and upkeep agreed in the lease.

Residential formatPrivate facilitiesCommon facilitiesAddress to identifySchool-route checkCost responsibility to document
Detached or semi-detached villaGarden, parking and any pool specific to the homeAny shared provision must be identifiedSub-area, street and villa entranceVilla gate to the named campus entranceRoutine care, repairs and any private pool or garden contract
Villa in a compoundHome-specific indoor and outdoor spacePool, gym or courts only where the compound documents themCompound name and actual exitCompound exit to school gate, including the return routeShared-facility upkeep and individual-home work, separately
Wasl's documented villa formatThe retained record identifies the villa's size and bedroomsThe retained record does not specify common facilitiesDD106 V40, Umm Suqeim 1, using Wasl's location pinWasl pin to the selected campusThe landlord's written lease and maintenance scope
Apartment or penthouse in Madinat Jumeirah LivingUnit layout and any private balcony or terraceMeraas describes community pools and pedestrian walkways; confirm the particular building's operating facilitiesDevelopment, building and entranceBuilding exit to the named campus entranceUnit utilities, cooling and any costs allocated through the lease

Source: withlida.com, 11 October 2026. Housing formats: Bayut's Umm Suqeim guide, Wasl's villa record and Meraas' Madinat Jumeirah Living overview. Responsibility columns are contract checks, rather than published tariffs.

Where is Umm Suqeim?

Umm Suqeim is a coastal residential district between Jumeirah and Al Sufouh, divided into the named sub-areas Umm Suqeim 1, 2 and 3. Bayut's area guide, read 11 October 2026, identifies that district and its villa and apartment housing.

For daily life, the useful address is more precise than “Umm Suqeim, Dubai”: it includes the sub-area, street or compound, building where applicable, and entrance. A school name needs the same precision. A property and school can share the district label while requiring a journey between different streets.

Madinat Jumeirah Living is one named residential community within this broader area. Its apartment facilities belong to that development and its individual buildings. A coastal address alone does not establish a household's entitlement to a private beach or another property's facilities.

What kinds of homes are found in Umm Suqeim?

Villa living and apartment living offer different household arrangements, even within the same district. Bayut describes detached and semi-detached villas, selected homes with gardens or pools, and villa compounds with shared facilities. Those descriptions are format evidence, with the actual facilities established by the home and contract (Bayut, checked 11 October 2026).

Wasl's own record provides a concrete villa example: a 3-bedroom villa with a displayed area of 2,557 sq ft in Umm Suqeim 1, observed 11 October 2026. The source does not label that area as a plot measurement or specify all facility responsibilities (Wasl). Its location pin gives the household a starting point for a school-route comparison.

For an apartment household, Meraas describes Madinat Jumeirah Living's apartments, community pools and pedestrian walkways (Meraas, checked 11 October 2026). The exact phase, completed building, facility access and cooling arrangement remain part of the home comparison.

A family seeking private outdoor space has the clearest match in a villa whose garden and upkeep are documented. A household seeking shared facilities has a closer match in a documented compound or apartment building.

What do the asking rents and sale sample show?

The usable rental comparison separates villas by sub-area and apartments by their named community. Bayut's rental article, updated 1 October 2026, publishes the annual advertised-price averages below. Its method uses a trimmed mean, an average calculated after excluding extremes; it identifies these as listing prices rather than completed transactions. The article does not specify the averaging window.

Home format and addressBedroomsAnnual advertised average, AED
Villa, Umm Suqeim 13 / 4 / 5345,000 / 368,000 / 494,000
Villa, Umm Suqeim 23 / 4 / 5348,000 / 372,000 / 550,000
Villa, Umm Suqeim 33 / 4 / 5344,000 / 382,000 / 524,000
Apartment, Madinat Jumeirah Living1 / 2 / 3128,000 / 206,000 / 326,000

Source: withlida.com, 11 October 2026, using Bayut's advertised rental averages, source updated 1 October 2026. Bedroom counts and figures correspond in the same order.

Separately, the Wasl villa record described above displayed AED 310,000 per year on 11 October 2026. That is one landlord's asking example for one documented home, rather than an average or evidence of a signed rent (Wasl).

Property Finder supplies a different kind of context: an original asking sample that mixes sale inventory across home types and bedroom counts.

Sale asking contextDisplayed valueScope
Mixed-inventory asking median in the market-overview paragraphAED 3.85 millionAll property types and bedrooms in the displayed area sample
Mixed-inventory asking rangeAED 1.7 million to AED 55 millionThe same displayed sale sample

Source: withlida.com, 11 October 2026, using Property Finder's original asking sample, observed that day.

For a rental comparison, the matched format and address carry the meaning. The mixed sale sample does not establish a typical villa purchase price, ownership eligibility or an area-wide rental yield.

How do Umm Suqeim 1, 2 and 3 differ for daily journeys?

The sub-area identifies where a journey begins; the entrance and connecting streets determine the route. Bayut places Umm Suqeim 1 between Jumeirah 3 and Umm Suqeim 2, and Umm Suqeim 2 between the other named Umm Suqeim sub-areas (Bayut, updated 1 October 2026).

Sub-areaResidential orientationSchool-route comparison
Umm Suqeim 1The Jumeirah-facing end; Wasl's retained villa example is hereStart from the villa or compound exit and route to the actual campus, including RIS in Umm Suqeim 3 if relevant
Umm Suqeim 2The middle section between the other named sub-areasCompare the home gate's connections towards the selected school, rather than using a district-centre pin
Umm Suqeim 3The sub-area containing the documented RIS campus and Madinat Jumeirah Living apartment communityCompare school and building entrances even when both addresses carry the same sub-area name

Source: withlida.com, 11 October 2026. Address evidence: Bayut's sub-area descriptions, Wasl's location record and RIS's own embedded campus map.

A household comparing homes can record the morning arrival route, afternoon collection route and onward workplace journey for each address. This captures the effect of exits, turns and school-gate arrangements without assigning one fixed commute to an entire sub-area.

The same address-first method applies when comparing a more extensive district such as Dubailand.

Which Raffles school campus is being discussed?

Raffles International School, RIS, is the British curriculum school on Al Baghla Street in Umm Suqeim 3. Its official website gives the address, and the map embedded by the school identifies that campus. Both were checked 11 October 2026.

RIS's curriculum overview describes the National Curriculum for England, with the UK Early Years Foundation Stage for its youngest groups. The published programme extends through Year 13, checked 11 October 2026.

The Knowledge and Human Development Authority, KHDA, Dubai's private-school regulator, lists this campus as Raffles International School L.L.C (Umm Suqeim South Br) in Umm Suqeim Third. Its published overall inspection rating is Very good for 2023-2024, the inspection period shown in the official campus record, checked 11 October 2026.

Raffles World Academy, RWA, is a separate school. Its own official website identifies it as an International Baccalaureate, IB, World School, checked 11 October 2026. The two names refer to different curricula and school identities, so a route or fee sheet needs the full campus name.

The following RIS examples use KHDA's 2026-2027 academic-year fact sheets, rather than portal tuition estimates.

RIS year groupAnnual tuition, AEDMandatory books shown, AEDDisplayed total, AED
FS 1, Foundation Stage 134,055No book charge listed34,055
Year 1071,9232,04473,967
Year 1387,8792,34990,228

Source: withlida.com, 11 October 2026. KHDA official RIS fact sheets for FS 1, Year 10 and Year 13, academic year 2026-2027.

For Year 10, the displayed total is AED 71,923 + AED 2,044 = AED 73,967. Separately, that fact sheet lists optional transport at AED 9,000 to AED 11,000 for 2026-2027. Uniforms, applicable examination-board charges and optional services sit outside the displayed tuition-and-books total (KHDA Year 10 fact sheet).

School proximity is one part of the home comparison. RIS's admissions process, checked October 2026, makes assessment and places part of the application process; a nearby residential address does not establish admission.

How does access to the Metro and business districts work?

Rail access begins with a connection from the home or school to a station. The Roads and Transport Authority, RTA, lists ONPASSIVE, Equiti and Mall of the Emirates on the Red Line; no station named Umm Suqeim appears in its current Metro stations map, checked 11 October 2026.

These are station candidates for an address-specific comparison. A district name or schematic rail map cannot establish which station entrance gives a household the most useful journey.

For work around Dubai International Financial Centre, DIFC, the same RTA map names Financial Centre. For Downtown, it names Burj Khalifa / Dubai Mall. The full comparison includes the home-to-station connection, rail journey and destination entrance, or the corresponding road journey.

  1. Locate the starting entrance

    Use the landlord's home pin or school-issued campus map, then identify the actual entrance used.

  2. Set the daily destination

    Use the school's arrival gate or workplace entrance, including the onward journey after drop-off.

  3. Compare the complete journey

    Record the proposed road or public-transport connection at the relevant time, including the return journey and any school-bus pickup point.

Families weighing a different relationship between residential addresses and rail can also compare the Al Qusais residential and Metro guide.

What costs sit outside annual rent?

A family budget needs separate lines for lease payments, refundable deposits, services and school costs. DLD's tenancy guide, read October 2026, identifies maintenance responsibility, facility use and management obligations as matters to establish in the rental documentation.

Budget lineEvidence that fixes the household amount or responsibility
Landlord's security depositWritten lease amount, payee and refund terms; separate from the DEWA deposit
Brokerage and landlord administrationWritten agreement or fee schedule identifying the service, payer and any applicable tax
Ejari, Dubai's tenancy-contract registrationDLD's fee for the selected registration channel
Electricity, water and coolingMeter/account details, applicable provider terms and consumption; separate cooling arrangements where relevant
Municipality housing feesCurrent assessed amount and rental-value basis
Private pool and garden careWritten scope identifying routine service, materials, water use, equipment repairs and payer
Home repairs and shared facilitiesLease provisions, maintenance schedule and confirmed access
Internet, moving and household coverProvider or contractor quotes for that address
School and transportExact campus, child's year group, official fee sheet and transport arrangement

Source: withlida.com, 11 October 2026. Contract checks: DLD tenancy guide. Dubai Municipality identifies rental value as the basis for its housing-fee adjustment service, checked October 2026. Unpriced lines require household-specific documentation.

For Ejari through the Dubai REST app or DLD website, DLD publishes AED 177.75 as of October 2026: AED 100 registration + AED 10 knowledge + AED 10 innovation + AED 55 service-partner fee + AED 2.75 VAT on that partner fee (DLD's registration service). The registration channel matters; this amount is kept separate from DEWA setup.

A garden or pool changes the service scope of a villa. The lease can distinguish routine care from equipment repairs and name who arranges each service. For an apartment, the equivalent questions concern the specific building's cooling account, common facilities and charges allocated through the lease.

What does the villa utility example total?

A residential villa's DEWA setup requires a refundable AED 4,000 deposit plus the applicable activation charges, according to DEWA's move-in schedule, as of October 2026.

DEWA component, AEDSmall metersLarge meters
Refundable residential-villa deposit4,0004,000
Electricity and water connection125300
Registration1010
Knowledge fee1010
Innovation fee1010
Activation subtotal155330
Deposit plus activation, partial utility setup cash4,1554,330

Source: withlida.com, 11 October 2026. Inputs: DEWA's official move-in schedule, as of October 2026. Standard components shown without an eligible cardholder discount.

The small-meter calculation is AED 4,000 + AED 125 + AED 10 + AED 10 + AED 10 = AED 4,155. The large-meter calculation replaces the connection component with AED 300, giving AED 4,330. Meter class is a technical designation in DEWA's schedule; bedrooms alone do not determine it.

These are partial utility setup amounts. Rent, the landlord's deposit, Ejari, school costs, cooling where applicable, ongoing consumption and household services remain separate. DEWA's same service page requires a valid Ejari number for tenants and describes the account notification sent following registration, as of October 2026.

Last verified: 11 October 2026.
Checked by the publication's independent check, 11 October 2026.
Change log: 11 October 2026 · first prepared · campus, asking-rent sources and official fee schedules checked.

Is Umm Suqeim a good fit for families renting long term?

It is a strong match for families comparing villa space or shared apartment facilities with a specific school campus and documented lease responsibilities. The home format and actual daily routes make the comparison meaningful.

Are all Umm Suqeim homes villas?

No. The district includes villa streets and compounds, while Madinat Jumeirah Living is a distinct apartment community. The housing table separates the facilities and costs to confirm for each format.

Is Raffles International School the same as Raffles World Academy?

No. RIS's own website describes its British curriculum, while RWA's website identifies its IB programmes. The documented RIS campus is on Al Baghla Street in Umm Suqeim 3, verified 11 October 2026.

Does Umm Suqeim have a Metro station?

No station named Umm Suqeim appears on RTA's current station map, checked 11 October 2026. Compare the full connection from the home to a current Red Line station and onward to the destination.

Is the DEWA villa deposit part of the landlord's deposit?

They are separate payments. DEWA publishes a refundable residential-villa deposit of AED 4,000 as of October 2026, with activation charges added separately. The landlord's deposit is established in the lease.

Subscribe to the withlida market brief for updated area guides and household-cost explainers.

View all Areas
Newsletter

Sourced guides, original data, and plain-language process reporting — in your inbox every week. No listings, no sales pressure.

Free. Unsubscribe anytime.