# Dubai non-resident mortgage playbook (2026): lenders, fees and steps

> HSBC, Mashreq, FAB and Dubai Islamic Bank publish non-resident home finance. Their stated limits, the DLD and bank fees on a mortgaged purchase, and the steps.

Source: https://withlida.com/insights/dubai-non-resident-mortgage-playbook-2026

---

:::intro
Four UAE banks publish home finance for non-residents on their own pages: HSBC lends up to 60% of a property's value to eligible Premier and Private Bank customers, Mashreq up to 50% of fair market value and AED 15 million, FAB up to AED 10 million, and Dubai Islamic Bank through an Ijarah programme. The Central Bank's loan-to-value caps cover UAE nationals and residents; a non-resident's limit is the bank's own policy.
:::

:::summary
- HSBC: up to 60% of property value for HSBC Premier or Private Bank customers, or those eligible for an account; fixed-rate and 3-month EIBOR products; valuation AED 2,625 including VAT.
- Mashreq: up to 50% of fair market value for a non-UAE resident, up to AED 15 million, over a maximum of 25 years.
- FAB: loans of up to AED 10 million, variable rates linked to EIBOR or MBR, and no approval-in-principle fee.
- Dubai Islamic Bank: a Non-Resident Program under Ijarah for ready properties, including resale purchases.
- On top of the deposit: DLD's 4% transfer fee (listed as 2% seller and 2% buyer), mortgage registration at 0.25% of the loan, the trustee fee and the bank's own charges.
- Early settlement fees on mortgages are capped at 1% of the outstanding balance or AED 10,000, whichever is less, under a 2019 Central Bank directive.
:::

**Last verified:** 24 October 2026.
Checked by the publication's independent check, 24 October 2026.

## What a non-resident mortgage is in Dubai

A non-resident mortgage is a home loan from a UAE bank to a buyer without UAE residence. The Central Bank's rulebook sets maximum loan-to-value ratios for UAE nationals and expatriate residents, such as 80% for an expatriate's first home below AED 5 million, and 50% for any off-plan purchase regardless of buyer ([CBUAE Rulebook, Article 3](https://rulebook.centralbank.ae/en/rulebook/article-3-important-ratios), as of October 2026). It sets no separate figure for non-residents, so each bank applies its own policy, as the published limits below show.

Residency, not nationality, decides the category: a buyer holding a UAE residence visa is assessed as a resident. The property also has to be acceptable to the bank as security, which starts with its registered title; the [freehold areas guide](/insights/freehold-areas-dubai) explains how ownership rights are confirmed.

## The lenders' published terms

| Bank | Published non-resident financing | Maximum amount and term | Other published terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HSBC | Up to 60% of property value | Not stated on the page | Premier or Private Bank customers, or eligible for an account; fixed-rate and variable 3-month EIBOR products; valuation AED 2,625 including VAT; arranging the loan takes up to 14 working days in most cases | [HSBC](https://www.hsbc.ae/mortgages/non-resident/) |
| Mashreq | Up to 50% of the property's fair market value | Up to AED 15 million; up to 25 years | Salaried and self-employed applicants; three months' bank statements among the listed documents | [Mashreq](https://www.mashreq.com/en/uae/private/banking-solution/home-loans/home-loan-non-residents/) |
| First Abu Dhabi Bank (FAB) | No loan-to-value figure published | Up to AED 10 million | Variable rates linked to EIBOR or MBR; no approval-in-principle fee; documentation processing, valuation and property insurance charges may apply | [FAB](https://www.bankfab.com/en-ae/personal/mortgages/mortgage-loan-for-non-uae-residents) |
| Dubai Islamic Bank (DIB) | No loan-to-value figure published on the page | Not stated on the page | Ijarah for ready properties, resale and developer purchases, buy-out and refinance; base rates, charges and Key Fact Statement linked from the page | [DIB](https://www.dib.ae/personal/home-finance/non-resident-program) |

Source: withlida.com, 24 October 2026, from each bank's non-resident page. Published features are not offers; the approved amount, rate and fees come from each bank's assessment and its written offer.

Interest rates are set per offer. HSBC lists fixed-rate and variable 3-month EIBOR home loans, and FAB offers variable rates linked to EIBOR, the Emirates interbank rate, or to its own mortgage base rate. The Key Facts Statement in the offer gives the reference rate, the margin and when the rate resets.

## The fees on a mortgaged purchase

The deposit is the price minus the approved loan. On top of it, the Dubai Land Department and the bank each charge for their part of the transaction.

| Charge | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| DLD transfer fee | 4% of the sale value, listed as 2% for the seller and 2% for the buyer; the sale contract records how the parties allocate it | [DLD sale registration](https://dubailand.gov.ae/en/eservices/property-sale-registration/) |
| Trustee (sale) fee | AED 4,000 plus VAT for a sale of AED 500,000 or more; AED 2,000 plus VAT below that | [DLD sale registration](https://dubailand.gov.ae/en/eservices/property-sale-registration/) |
| Mortgage registration | 0.25% of the registered mortgage value, plus applicable charges | [DLD mortgage registration](https://dubailand.gov.ae/en/eservices/request-for-mortgage-registration/) |
| Bank valuation | AED 2,625 including VAT at HSBC; other banks per their schedules | [HSBC](https://www.hsbc.ae/mortgages/non-resident/) |
| Bank arrangement or processing fee | Per the bank's schedule of charges | The bank's tariff and Key Facts Statement |
| Early settlement | At most 1% of the outstanding balance or AED 10,000, whichever is less | [Khaleej Times](https://www.khaleejtimes.com/business/economy/uae-central-bank-sets-early-settlement-fee-limit-for-mortgages), reporting the Central Bank's directive, 9 October 2019 |

Source: withlida.com, 24 October 2026, from the linked DLD service pages, the HSBC page and the Khaleej Times report. DLD charges are as listed on 24 October 2026.

A worked example shows the scale. On an AED 2,000,000 ready apartment financed at HSBC's published maximum of 60%, the loan is AED 1,200,000 and the deposit AED 800,000. Mortgage registration at 0.25% adds AED 3,000, the trustee fee AED 4,000 plus VAT and the valuation AED 2,625. The transfer fee is AED 40,000 for the buyer's listed 2%, or AED 80,000 if the contract allocates the full 4% to the buyer. The bank's own arrangement fee comes on top, from its schedule.

## From approval in principle to the title

1. **Approval in principle.** The bank reviews the applicant's income, credit and documents and states what it may lend; HSBC says applying takes on average 60 minutes.
2. **Valuation.** The bank values the property; the loan follows the valuation as well as the price.
3. **Offer.** The bank sends a written offer with the amount, the rate terms and the fees, alongside its Key Facts Statement.
4. **Registration.** The mortgage is registered with the Land Department at the transfer; HSBC notes that a non-resident signs the loan document in person.

The [non-resident mortgage guide](/insights/non-resident-mortgage-dubai) covers each stage's records in detail, and the [approval file guide](/insights/non-resident-mortgage-approval-file) lists the evidence a lender asks for.

## Matching the lender to the buyer

- **An existing HSBC Premier or Private Bank customer:** HSBC's non-resident product is open to that relationship, with up to 60% of value.
- **A loan above AED 10 million:** Mashreq publishes a non-resident ceiling of AED 15 million, at up to 50% of fair market value.
- **A choice between EIBOR and a bank base rate:** FAB offers both links on its non-resident loans.
- **An Islamic structure:** DIB's Non-Resident Program uses Ijarah for ready properties.
- **An off-plan purchase:** the Central Bank caps off-plan lending at 50% for every buyer category; the [off-plan mortgage guide](/insights/off-plan-mortgage-dubai) sets out how approval and drawdown work.

## Frequently asked questions

::::faq
:::faq-item{q="Can a non-resident get a mortgage in Dubai?"}
Yes. HSBC, Mashreq, FAB and Dubai Islamic Bank publish home finance for buyers who live outside the UAE, each subject to its own eligibility and credit assessment. The Central Bank's loan-to-value caps apply to UAE nationals and residents; for a non-resident, the bank's own policy sets the limit.
:::
:::faq-item{q="How much deposit does a non-resident need in Dubai?"}
It follows the bank's maximum loan. At HSBC's published 60%, the deposit is at least 40% of the value; at Mashreq's published 50%, at least half. DLD's transfer and registration fees, the trustee fee and the bank's charges come on top.
:::
:::faq-item{q="Which banks offer mortgages to non-residents in the UAE?"}
As published on their own pages on 24 October 2026: HSBC (up to 60% for Premier and Private Bank customers), Mashreq (up to 50% and AED 15 million), FAB (up to AED 10 million) and Dubai Islamic Bank (an Ijarah Non-Resident Program). Other banks set their own terms.
:::
:::faq-item{q="Can a non-resident get an off-plan mortgage in Dubai?"}
The Central Bank caps loan-to-value on off-plan property at 50% for all buyer categories, residents included. Whether a bank lends to a non-resident on an off-plan purchase is its own policy, set out in its product terms.
:::
:::faq-item{q="What does the DLD charge when a property is bought with a mortgage?"}
DLD lists a transfer fee of 4% of the sale value, shown as 2% for the seller and 2% for the buyer, a trustee fee of AED 4,000 plus VAT for sales of AED 500,000 or more, and a mortgage registration fee of 0.25% of the registered loan, plus applicable charges.
:::
:::faq-item{q="Is there a fee for repaying a Dubai mortgage early?"}
Yes, within a cap: the Central Bank directed banks in 2019 to limit the early settlement fee on mortgages to 1% of the outstanding balance or AED 10,000, whichever is less. The offer's Key Facts Statement shows the fee that applies.
:::
::::

2026-10-24 · refreshed · Replaced first-person lender routing, bank verdicts and unsourced rates with each bank's published non-resident terms, the Central Bank's caps and DLD's fees; corrected Mashreq's ceiling and the date of the early-settlement cap. Sources accessed 24 October 2026.

:::callout{variant="tip" title="Mortgage and fee updates"}
[Subscribe to the withlida newsletter](/newsletter) for new reads on Dubai lending terms and purchase costs as they publish.
:::

:::callout{variant="info" title="Before you act"}
This guide is general information, not financial, legal, or investment advice. Lending terms, fees and rules change; verify the current requirements with your lender, the Dubai Land Department (DLD), RERA, or a licensed professional before you commit.
:::
